PDA

View Full Version : How to I quote this job?

dogbone
Oct 16, 2006, 02:54 AM
I know this is a bit of a nebulous question but I've never done a job like this before. Usually I just do small layouts or straightforward designs.

This is basically three different sets of labels for one company that sells oils creams and homeopathic stuff.

I need to take one of their logos which looks like a complex stained glass design. I need to take a piece of it and redraw it with smooth lines and also alter it to suit. For example there is a stylised person on it and for the hair products I will change the hair or I might change the position of the arms. For other products I will put some stylised and also 4 colour graphic objects in her hands. (See image.)

Another part consists of making a fairly simple logo and they have a good idea what they want so I only have to redraw it and play with the proportions. It will be mono colour.

Those first two are difficult enough to know how to quote but they also will want me to make up labels for different size bottles and this will be an ongoing thing.

They want it all fairly quickly. I have not the slightest clue on how to go about quoting this especially as it will be ongoing.

Any clues from those experienced in these things is appreciated.

furious
Oct 16, 2006, 03:37 AM
man hours
equipment hours ( cost of running equipment )
direct expenses ( relating to work you are doing)
indirect expenses ( gas, electricity, rent etc. )

this is a basic breakdown of your cost so that you could work out how much to charge the customer.

don't disclose this to a customer. (personal)

Mydriasis
Oct 16, 2006, 08:16 AM
Is it a vector file? If not make it one, and the you can fairly easily adjust the different ancor points, move parts to different layer, etc....

here is a one minute job, i just coverted it to a vector file and colored it using the standard settings in illustrator

dogbone
Oct 16, 2006, 08:27 AM