PDA

View Full Version : bullet-points in inDesign?




londonweb
Oct 17, 2006, 09:28 AM
Can you add bullet points to a list of text in inDesign CS1 ? How?

many thanks!



Sdashiki
Oct 17, 2006, 09:39 AM
option-8?

Lau
Oct 17, 2006, 09:39 AM
Can you add bullet points to a list of text in inDesign CS1 ? How?

many thanks!

You can insert a bullet character by going to Type > Insert Special Character > Bullet Character, but I'm not sure if there's a more automatic way to do it. Although presumably you could set up a paragraph style for a list that would set up the formatting so you could apply it to all lists.

Edit: Or Option + 8. :D

Sdashiki
Oct 17, 2006, 09:42 AM
HA HA i beat you to it! Nah nah!


speaking of special characters, you can (in OSX) use the option key in combo with the keyboard characters to create "special" characters.

Like option-****-8 i think makes the "degree" temperature sign


I say "i think" because I am at work, on a P.O.S. Dell.

And I still need to use InDesign myself.

In windows, how do I do such things as simply as in OSX? When I hold Alt or Control and hit a key, nothing happens except some shortcuts sometimes.

tobefirst
Oct 17, 2006, 09:45 AM
Like option-****-8 i think makes the "degree" temperature sign


I say "i think" because I am at work, on a P.O.S. Dell.
Ooh, that's strange. I didn't know that.

I've always been using Option-0, which is one less key, so...neener neener neener! (:

(But option-shift-8 does work)

Lau
Oct 17, 2006, 09:49 AM
HA HA i beat you to it! Nah nah!


speaking of special characters, you can (in OSX) use the option key in combo with the keyboard characters to create "special" characters.

Like option-****-8 i think makes the "degree" temperature sign.

Did you perchance forget the f in shift? :p

(It does do the degree sign, by the way.)

Mydriasis
Oct 17, 2006, 09:57 AM
I'd go with the paragraph style like Lau suggested. Or do you do your formating using the space bar? ;)

londonweb
Oct 17, 2006, 10:08 AM
Thanks guys!

For those of you on POS Dells , yes it is option+8 , and option + shift + 8 gives a degree. In fact all the number keys give special characters in combination with option and/or shift.

We learn something new every day. Now I can get on with the most boring design job in the world. A presentation poster for a talk on 'Do Contaminant Levels of Polychlorinated Biphenyls Really Affect Thyroid Function?'. I kid you not.

Oh well, it's all work, shouldn't complain.

londonweb
Oct 17, 2006, 10:11 AM
I'd go with the paragraph style like Lau suggested. Or do you do your formating using the space bar? ;)

Actually I normally just print everything out in one huge paragraph and painstakingly arrange the layout by hand with a pair of scissors and some glue. :)

fireball370
Oct 17, 2006, 10:11 AM
this will apply a bullet or special charcater to a list:

open your paragraph palette.
go to the little arrow in the top corner.
click on bullets and numbering.

Sdashiki
Oct 17, 2006, 10:22 AM
and how do i do these things in Windows?

fireball370
Oct 17, 2006, 10:44 AM
and how do i do these things in Windows?

I'm on a mac, and I don't remember what the palettes look like in windows. I *think* they look the same? :confused:

londonweb
Oct 17, 2006, 11:20 AM
this will apply a bullet or special charcater to a list:

open your paragraph palette.
go to the little arrow in the top corner.
click on bullets and numbering.

This is weird because on my version there is no bullets and numbering option. Also if I look it up in help, nothing comes up. I'm using CS1

Sdashiki
Oct 17, 2006, 11:58 AM
I'm on a mac, and I don't remember what the palettes look like in windows. I *think* they look the same? :confused:


no no no.

in word, in ichat, in FCP, in anything, on a mac, you can hold option and type away and get special characters.

in windows, what is this equivalent, does it exist?

fireball370
Oct 17, 2006, 12:38 PM
This is weird because on my version there is no bullets and numbering option. Also if I look it up in help, nothing comes up. I'm using CS1

i'm such a nerd. sorry :eek: i totally missed the part where you said you were using CS1 the first time. :-(

apfhex
Oct 17, 2006, 02:30 PM
in windows, what is this equivalent, does it exist?
No. To type special characters you have to learn complicated altkey+longstringofnumbersonlyfromthekeypad combinations.

I've always been using Option-0
I had no idea option-0 did the same as option-shift-8! Kind of strange. I've been using option-shift-8 for years.

dogbone
Oct 22, 2006, 06:01 AM
Bullets always look too small for my taste.

I prefer to make a custom shape, (ie a circle to the size I like), copy and paste it into the type. You also have more choice, like making squares or some other more interesting shape like an elipse.

iMeowbot
Oct 22, 2006, 06:12 AM
I had no idea option-0 did the same as option-shift-8! Kind of strange. I've been using option-shift-8 for years.
They are different characters. Shift-option-8 is a real degree symbol, while option-0 is a superscripted letter o used with numbering in some languages. (option-0 is for masculine , option-9 for feminine)

dogbone
Oct 22, 2006, 06:16 AM
@iMeowbot

I'm almost regretting that thread about you know what. ;)

iMeowbot
Oct 22, 2006, 06:26 AM
I'm almost regretting that thread about you know what. ;)
It could be worse, an active demi could have picked up on the idea and made a plague of it.

jovenfuego
Oct 24, 2006, 12:51 PM
If you want to do bullets in InDesign (I'm assuming you want to sorta imitate MS Word) you will need to fiddle around with the tabs function. Hopefully this helps a bit.

Snark
Oct 24, 2006, 04:08 PM
If you want to do bullets in InDesign (I'm assuming you want to sorta imitate MS Word) you will need to fiddle around with the tabs function. Hopefully this helps a bit.
If you're referring to setting up a hanging indent, not much fiddling needed. Shouldn't take more than ten or twenty seconds in the tab ruler. Set it up as a paragraph style and you're ready to rock and roll.

Snark

tobefirst
Oct 24, 2006, 11:17 PM
If you're referring to setting up a hanging indent, not much fiddling needed. Shouldn't take more than ten or twenty seconds in the tab ruler. Set it up as a paragraph style and you're ready to rock and roll.

Snark
Actually, a simple cmd-\ will create a hanging indent without ever going into the tabs or paragraph palette.

Snark
Oct 25, 2006, 09:17 AM
Actually, a simple cmd-\ will create a hanging indent without ever going into the tabs or paragraph palette.
Shoot, I thought there was a shortcut for that, but I'm used to setting them manually and couldn't remember for sure.

Thanks. :)