PDA

View Full Version : FPS games on OSX

2ms
Oct 21, 2006, 12:03 AM
I just got a new 20" iMac tonight so I am brand new to the Mac world...

What first person shooter games are available for OSX? And, if there are several, do some of them run faster due to better optimization for Mac than others?

Mackilroy
Oct 21, 2006, 12:20 AM
I just got a new 20" iMac tonight so I am brand new to the Mac world...

What first person shooter games are available for OSX? And, if there are several, do some of them run faster due to better optimization for Mac than others?

Off the top of my head: Tremulous, Call of Duty 2, Doom 3, Quake 4, Close Combat: First to Fight, Halo: Combat Evolved, Alien Vs. Predator 2 and this is by no means a complete list. For more Mac games, please click this (http://www.apple.com/games/articles/) link.

As for games, unfortunately, they typically run better under Windows because the vast majority of games are written for DirectX and then ported to OpenGL, which means there is a corresponding slowdown. That's not to say the games won't run well or even spectacular, but if you're looking to play games a PC will always be better.

Counterfit
Oct 21, 2006, 12:30 AM
www.macgamefiles.com < free demos and updates
www.insidemacgames.com

2ms
Oct 21, 2006, 12:34 AM
Ok so if I get any Mac game it is completely compatible with Intel Mac? This is strange to me because when code getts compiled it is compiled for specific hardware and the powerpc has drastically different instruction set from intel. How is it that Mac games that were produced before the switch to intel could possibly run well on Intel machines? Does OSX do some translation in real time? If so, that has got to be real slow

Spaceman Spiff
Oct 21, 2006, 12:43 AM
Does OSX do some translation in real time? If so, that has got to be real slow