PDA

View Full Version : Using target mode with older g4




knome
Oct 23, 2006, 12:48 AM
Ok well i got my mac pro and i want to target disk all my old documents over from the second hard drive, that is not the boot drive. On my power book when i did target disk mode both hard drives showed up but on my mac pro only the boot drive showed up. Is there a setting or something i'm missing? What can i do to fix it?



mad jew
Oct 23, 2006, 06:27 AM
I might be wrong, but I thought it only ever worked with the first ATA drive (might be different for modern SATA Macs). Manually swapping their location (or just their cables) should get around this, as much of a hassle as it is. What do you mean when you say both drives on the PowerBook showed up? :)

ljones
Oct 23, 2006, 11:18 AM
You will only be able to see the main drive. So i used the second Ethernet port on mine and connected my G4. Basically networked the two, and now my G4 is a server for me to backup documents. And i use my SuperDrive in the G4 for DVD Roms the new crap ass Sony in my Mac pro refuses to mount.