PDA

View Full Version : can i get some help converting a raster to vector?




krossfyter
Oct 24, 2006, 09:56 AM
would someone be so nice to convert a raster image to vector for me?
someone with access to CS2 that is. its a 544kb jpg.
if someone would be so helpful as to do this for me you can pm you email addy... or however you want to do this. i would appreciate it.



D0ct0rteeth
Oct 24, 2006, 10:02 AM
would someone be so nice to convert a raster image to vector for me?
someone with access to CS2 that is. its a 544kb jpg.
if someone would be so helpful as to do this for me you can pm you email addy... or however you want to do this. i would appreciate it.

Depending on the graphic it could quite possible that you'll have to recreate it.

Adone Streamline, or "Live trace" in Illustrator has its limitations.

- Doc

krossfyter
Oct 24, 2006, 10:05 AM
Depending on the graphic it could quite possible that you'll have to recreate it.

Adone Streamline, or "Live trace" in Illustrator has its limitations.

- Doc


yeh i know. but i want to see if i can get it done this way first before going that route. thnx man.

Sdashiki
Oct 24, 2006, 10:52 AM
youd rather ask a stranger to spend a good amount of time tracing your image by hand, than using Live Trace?

krossfyter
Oct 24, 2006, 11:08 AM
nah, im asking a stranger to use live trace in cs2 to vectorize my image... not manually trace it all out for me. im not sure how you got that from what i was saying. of course i wouldnt have a stranger do something so manually laborsome such as that. if a stranger is not able to easily use live trace on it and it ends up that i have to do it by hand... then ill do it by hand. but first before i go the route of tracing it myself which will take hours i want to see if it can be done automaticall with the click of a few buttons.

again.. not sure where you got the idea that i wanted the stranger to do all this manually intensive work.


thnx.

krossfyter
Oct 24, 2006, 12:06 PM
ah okay i see where u got that idea. i didnt indicate this:

that i dont have access to illustrator cs2 at the moment and ive been trying to get some freeware vector conversion programs to no avail.

its not so easy (to my understanding) doing vector conversion in illustrator cs.

Lebowski
Oct 24, 2006, 01:53 PM
ah okay i see where u got that idea. i didnt indicate this:

that i dont have access to illustrator cs2 at the moment and ive been trying to get some freeware vector conversion programs to no avail.

its not so easy (to my understanding) doing vector conversion in illustrator cs.


i am unaware of any vector "conversion" apps, especially free ones. look at it this way, vector is a fancy way of saying drawing on a computer, as apposed to your hand a pen and paper. sure you can get a machine to recreate a drawing, but is it gonna look how YOU want it?

Sdashiki
Oct 24, 2006, 02:02 PM
i am unaware of any vector "conversion" apps, especially free ones. look at it this way, vector is a fancy way of saying drawing on a computer, as apposed to your hand a pen and paper. sure you can get a machine to recreate a drawing, but is it gonna look how YOU want it?


live trace is a useful tool


while it would take longer tweaking the setting of live trace than to do the whole thing by hand, to achieve a result you are 100% happy with, it does have its uses.

live trace is a good place to START tracing, as it has taken most of the hard work and simplified it into editable, moveable vectors.


that said, Live Trace is a relatively recent addition to illustrator.

was also included with Flash, but crippled compared to Illustrator's.

all in all, its always been a hand done thing, as ive yet to see a stand alone tracer.

krossfyter
Oct 24, 2006, 02:14 PM
ive used live trace on cs2 when i had acess to it and if i had access to it now im pretty sure it could do the job with the image i have. i dont need it perfect.

believe me if i had access to cs2 i could get this done without having to bother you all. it does an okay job and thats all i need right now. but if its too much to ask.. .hey no probs guys... ill find some way.. i hope. im not going to raise an issue about it. i realize im asking strangers to do this and i would only be so grateful and respectful if anyone tried to help me. if it didnt work out.. i wouldnt hold it against anyone. thnx you all.

redbandit
Oct 24, 2006, 03:08 PM
posting the image might encourage more/better responses.

Lebowski
Oct 24, 2006, 03:43 PM
live trace is a useful tool


while it would take longer tweaking the setting of live trace than to do the whole thing by hand, to achieve a result you are 100% happy with, it does have its uses.

live trace is a good place to START tracing, as it has taken most of the hard work and simplified it into editable, moveable vectors.


that said, Live Trace is a relatively recent addition to illustrator.

was also included with Flash, but crippled compared to Illustrator's.

all in all, its always been a hand done thing, as ive yet to see a stand alone tracer.

actually livetrace is based off of adobe streamline, which is older than most of the posters here. its just recently been added to illustrator in response to complaints of the killing of streamline. and im not saying live trace isnt a great part of illustrator, i use it ALL the time.

the fact is, the OP doesnt have illustrator CS2, and is looking for a freeware app to do the same thing. im just stating i dont think thats available. For someone unexperienced in vector art, this small project could be very difficult. i am just stating that there is a certain "human" element needed to a point.

krossfyter
Oct 24, 2006, 04:05 PM
its not a photo image. 3-4 color logo type image. ill try and post it. thnx.

fradac
Oct 24, 2006, 04:13 PM
if you post the image, i can see what i can do with it

Lebowski
Oct 24, 2006, 07:25 PM
its not a photo image. 3-4 color logo type image. ill try and post it. thnx.


photo or not, if its raster, its raster... which means its pixel based, not math based as vector is.

its like when i tell clients to give me a high res tiff file, they just open a bad jpeg, and resave it as a tiff. that does nothing to help me. i might as well just have the original ******* jpeg.

iMeowbot
Oct 24, 2006, 07:58 PM
that i dont have access to illustrator cs2 at the moment and ive been trying to get some freeware vector conversion programs to no avail.
There is one (potrace) built into Inkscape. I don't know if I'd call it worse or better than Live Trace, but it's … different. It's really at its best when the original bitmap is in bad shape.

zero2dash
Oct 27, 2006, 10:26 AM
Do you still need this done? Let me know.

G.Kirby
Oct 28, 2006, 12:14 PM
If the logo is made of simple shapes you could go via Photoshop. Use the magic wand or make manual selections, convert these to paths then export these paths to illustrator. Depending on how well you can make your selections and the complexity of the image you are tracing you may have a great deal of success. :)