Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

Keith Knipling

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Oct 27, 2006
I am new to MySQL and PHP. Trying to set up a local Wordpress site and manage it. Cannot connect to the MAMP MySQL database with CocoaMySQL. I am using the beta version, which works with versions MySQL > 4.1.

Thanks!

Keith

frankblundt

macrumors 65816
Sep 19, 2005
South of the border
I'm pretty sure I've used CocoaMySQL with MySQL 5. PhpMyAdmin is your other choice, which comes with MAMP and which gives you more controls over stuff like setting users and so on, but the interface isn't as pleasant.

For CocoaMySQL you need to know the root password for MySQL for the utility to be able to connect to it (and MySQL needs to be running), so that you can enter Host: localhost , User: root, Password: <password> in the connection dialog.

I believe for MAMP the root password is set to "root" by default,

.. which you should change (using phpMyAdmin > Privileges > change password for root@localhost), although this may mean that MAMP can no longer connect to it, without altering some conf files :eek:

Keith Knipling

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Oct 27, 2006
Here is a screenshot from phpMyAdmin, which says

"MySQL 5.0.19 running on localhost as root@localhost"

In CocoaMySQL I am trying to connect using localhost | user:root: password: root.

Thoughts?

Attachments

• Picture 2.png
    Picture 2.png
    34.5 KB · Views: 330

frankblundt

macrumors 65816
Sep 19, 2005
South of the border
You should be able to change the root password from within PhpMyadmin (under the privileges section) to whatever you like. I just can't recall whether MAMP is smart enough to update itself when that happens to still have access to the MAMP database, but hopefully :p

When you've set the root password you should be able to use that to connect via CocoaMySQL

ddekker

macrumors regular
Sep 23, 2006
Michigan
wordpress