PDA

View Full Version : Emac 700mhz Memory upgrade




StooHall
Oct 30, 2006, 01:14 PM
Hi,

I've unsuccessfully tried three times to upgrade the memory in my Emac. I have two 128mb sticks (133mhz) of unknown brand that are working fine - but i need at least 512mb.

I've tried three sticks now: One that i had already from an old PC (can't read brand), one Infineon 512mb pc133 stick, and one that i think says 'MXO' again 512mb & 133mhz.

Any of the 512mb sticks don't register. if they're the only memory stick in the mac refuses to start with a single beep - or if there is a 512mb and 128mb stick in, it shows as only 128mb when it's started.

The PC stick works in a PC, and the second two were both brand new. What am i doing wrong? i can't afford to make another bad purchase now!

any help would be appreciated.

cheers,
-s



oldMac
Oct 30, 2006, 01:27 PM
Hi,

I've unsuccessfully tried three times to upgrade the memory in my Emac. I have two 128mb sticks (133mhz) of unknown brand that are working fine - but i need at least 512mb.


Step 1: Go to MacSolutions.com

Step 2: Select Emac Memory from dropdown menu

Step 3: Purchase eMac Memory

Step 4: If it doesn't work, send it back for a free replacement

Step 5: Sell the other memory on Ebay to a PC user who doesn't have a finicky motherboard

Macs are notoriously picky about their memory requirements. It is not uncommon for a generic or non-apple-tested stick to fail. The easiest thing to do is buy from a Mac reseller who:

a) Tests their RAM in Macs before they sell it and
b) Offers a no hassle return policy

StooHall
Oct 30, 2006, 01:34 PM
Step 1: Go to MacSolutions.com

Step 2: Select Emac Memory from dropdown menu

Step 3: Purchase eMac Memory...




Thanks for such a quick reply. That would be excellent, however i'm in the UK - and the few sites i found that worked like macsolutions.com were all in the US.

Anybody know a UK supplier?

thanks,
-s