PDA

View Full Version : IPOd Video AV Input not working




lorilb
Oct 30, 2006, 11:37 PM
I have a 30GB iPod Video; I recently purchased a Dynex iPod Docking Station with Remote (DX-IPDR). When I connect the AV input to my TV, the sound works fine, but I don't get the video. What could be the possible problems? I tried it on three different TV's. Do you need a HD TV? The only reason I purchased it was to watch the videos on my TV; the Best Buy saleperson said it would work fine.

Thanks!
:confused:



xappeal
Oct 31, 2006, 01:02 AM
Are you sure that the dock is designed for a video ipod and not a 4G click wheel iPod like many docking stations are??

Also, there can be an issue with using a video cable not from apple, some look like they should work but are for DV cams, you have to switch the imput colours around to get them to work.

Try pugging the cable directly into the ipod and see if that works, once it does, then put the ipod in the dock.

You don't need a hd tv, just a tv that uses AV inputs, turned to the right input setting.

Scarlet Fever
Oct 31, 2006, 01:06 AM
For some reason, Apple decided to mix-and-match the cables.

Red is usually Audio R, but is now Video
Yellow is usually Video, but is now Audio L
White is usually Audio L, but is now Audio R

The plug is a headphone jack, which goes straight into the jack of the iPod.

It works on my ancient Sony 64cm CRT TV, so it should work on any TV.

Hope that helped :)

lorilb
Nov 1, 2006, 01:29 PM
Thanks for the responses. I realized that I had my iPod video settings incorrect. The TV Out setting was on Off. Once I set that to On, it worked perfectly! I'm amazed at the resolution I get, even on my old TV. The resolution was much better when the iPod was in the dock and the AV cable was connected to the dock. When connected directly to my iPod, the resolution ws not very good.

Lori

:o :D

mrgreen4242
Nov 2, 2006, 02:41 PM
For some reason, Apple decided to mix-and-match the cables.

Red is usually Audio R, but is now Video
Yellow is usually Video, but is now Audio L
White is usually Audio L, but is now Audio R

The plug is a headphone jack, which goes straight into the jack of the iPod.

It works on my ancient Sony 64cm CRT TV, so it should work on any TV.

Hope that helped :)

That is ... bizarre. The RCA color coded cables have been a standard for decades, and they messed with it? Makes no sense at all, and I can imagine they get a lot of support calls due to this.

JonKrauseHelp
Dec 28, 2007, 03:07 PM
bringing back an old thread here but I'm having a very similar problem.

Last night I bought the Dynex AV cables for my new, 5th Gen 160gb iPod. They did not work and after much troubleshooting and research I found out that apparently I need to Dynex AV Dock.

I spent 3 hours in lines at 2 Best Buys to return my first item and pick up the dock, which was over $25 more than the other product.

Now, I'm already pissed off but I figure it'll all be worth it when I get home.

No such luck.

This does not work either.

The video options ARE set to "video out: on", and I know that the dock works and can read the iPod because when I place it in the dock the iPod starts charging, plus if I plug it in like that and then play a song it will play the audio loud and clear. However when I try a movie it still says "attach video device". I've tried several televisions, I've tried switching around the red/yellow/white cables as a previous poster mentioned, and I've tried numerous other things also. I have absolutely no idea what to do and I am very upset.

Please help?

Alican
Dec 29, 2007, 05:50 AM
160gb ipod? That's 6th gen isn't it? The Classic. Seems like you've got the dock for the wrong model. Go to Apple's support site for the specification of the correct cables for each type of ipod.

JonKrauseHelp
Dec 29, 2007, 12:00 PM
So that means I've been fed misinformation by Best Buy twice?

damn

thanks for the heads up.

If anyone knows of/has any suggestions that does not include me returning the product AGAIN, I'd be appreciative :)

l(if)e003
Dec 4, 2008, 03:10 PM
So that means I've been fed misinformation by Best Buy twice?

damn

thanks for the heads up.

If anyone knows of/has any suggestions that does not include me returning the product AGAIN, I'd be appreciative :)

you're going to need those av cables back.
you need the cables and dock for it to work completely.

Darth.Titan
Dec 4, 2008, 04:32 PM
I was under the impression that the only video out cable compatible with the iPod classic was made by Apple.

Are they allowing third parties to make this now?

Scarlet Fever
Dec 9, 2008, 05:58 AM
I was under the impression that the only video out cable compatible with the iPod classic was made by Apple.

Are they allowing third parties to make this now?

No. The user above you is replying to a comment made about this time last year, who replied to a comment made about this time 2 years ago.

If you want to connect any new iPod to an external display, you have to buy the Apple gear.