PDA

View Full Version : Blender and MacBook?




Bern
Oct 31, 2006, 02:46 AM
Taking a look at the system requirements for Blender over on their website and I'm not entirely certain how well it would run on a 2Ghz MacBook with 2GB ram.

Anyone have any experience or idea?



wjanoch
Dec 7, 2007, 03:18 PM
Horrible on MacBook with Leopard. (Blender v2.45 Universal)

This may have been great performance on Win98, but it's main interface is slow feeling. And there are several things that don't display, so even though they render, you're left to wonder where they are when editing.

You'll get better performance if you run it in XP through Parallels.

Wm

Kwill
Dec 7, 2007, 10:35 PM
I would prefer a MacBook over a blender. :D

Tom B.
Dec 8, 2007, 07:46 AM
Will it blend? That is the question.

kwood
Dec 8, 2007, 04:08 PM
Will it blend? That is the question.

I love that pod cast. I laughed when they blended an new iPhone when it first came out.

klymr
Dec 8, 2007, 05:10 PM
Those blenders are from a company here in Utah. If I were closer, I would have drove over there and yelled at them. It was sad to watch that iPhone die like that.

You inspired me to watch more videos. This has got to be one of the best so far!

http://www.willitblend.com/videos.aspx?type=unsafe&video=chuck

ezekielrage_99
Dec 11, 2007, 09:17 PM
I'm using Blender on my Macbook (2.16GHZ C2D with 2GB RAM) with Tiger, it seems to work fine however the more floating points and the higher the quality of the texture maps you use it does seem to slow the performance.

mixel
Dec 26, 2007, 10:42 PM
I'm late to the topic buuut..

Blender on a CD 1.8 2GB Rev.A Macbook with Leopard is pretty terrible - i boot into windows to run it. Maybe on the newer GMA chips it's better.

It's only been like this since the Leopard upgrade, it was fine before that, but there's a huge amount of UI lag now, things take a while to actually happen when you click, which makes it pretty unusable. :( Hopefully they'll fix it soon. It's not just me, lots of users have mentioned it online.

On Tiger it ran like a trooper, so a newer Macbook would be very capable. :)

Let's Sekuhara!
Jan 15, 2009, 07:52 PM
In summary, if you meet both of these criteria Blender will not be usable for you:

(1) You have a MacBook with an Intel GMA chipset.
(The black and white MacBooks both have these. Newer aluminum one does not)

(2) You are running Leopard.

So if you want to use Blender, don't get the white MacBook (black is discontinued).

The cause is an OpenGL bug in Leopard that only affects certain OpenGL calls and only if the graphics hardware is "Intel GMA-something-something".

The only way around this is to run another OS on your MacBook. Dual-booting or using a virtual machine through software like VMware Fusion are both viable options. Of course if you are running Tiger on your MacBook, by all means do not upgrade to Leopard if you plan to use Blender.