PDA

View Full Version : 360 1080p question


patseguin
Nov 10, 2006, 10:15 AM
I can't quite find a definitive answer to this. With the fall update, will my 360 do 1080p over component or only VGA? I got my HD DVD drive today and wonder if I should grab a VGA cable on the way home. From what I read, it seems for HD DVD's, component is only 1080i due to some licensing agreement or something. Does VGA use 1080 resolutions? When I look at it on the Xbox site, it lists supported resolutions but not 1080.

gloss
Nov 10, 2006, 10:22 AM
I thought the 360 only did 1080i to begin with?

VGA doesn't support 1080 resolution, as far as I know. It maxes out somewhere around or just above 720p.

jdechko
Nov 10, 2006, 10:36 AM
The Fall update brought 1080p support.

Apparently, though, the VGA does support 1080p. I'm not sure about component.

Krevnik
Nov 10, 2006, 10:40 AM
The Fall update brought 1080p support.

Apparently, though, the VGA does support 1080p. I'm not sure about component.

VGA and Component can both be used for output 1080p if your TV supports it... the thing is, there are a fair number of issues regarding 1080p right now over VGA, and not a lot of sets take 1080p over component cleanly.

VGA is required if you want HD-DVD output at 1080p, but at 24fps, I wouldn't kill myself over having to take 1080i instead.

Component will display 'up to 1080i' using the HD-DVD drive. This might change in the future if Warner Brothers decides to use the Image Constraint Token, making the output 540p over component (yes, that is right).

gloss
Nov 10, 2006, 10:44 AM
VGA and Component can both be used for output 1080p if your TV supports it... the thing is, there are a fair number of issues regarding 1080p right now over VGA, and not a lot of sets take 1080p over component cleanly.

VGA is required if you want HD-DVD output at 1080p, but at 24fps, I wouldn't kill myself over having to take 1080i instead.

Component will display 'up to 1080i' using the HD-DVD drive. This might change in the future if Warner Brothers decides to use the Image Constraint Token, making the output 540p over component (yes, that is right).

Ahh, my fault.

My Sony only takes 1300x720 or something to that effect via VGA. You've gotta use DVI to HDMI to plug in a PC at native resolution (native being 1080p).

Dagless
Nov 10, 2006, 11:30 AM
Ahh, my fault.

My Sony only takes 1300x720 or something to that effect via VGA. You've gotta use DVI to HDMI to plug in a PC at native resolution (native being 1080p).

The reason why was mentioned in the 5th word of your post.

gloss
Nov 10, 2006, 11:34 AM
The reason why was mentioned in the 5th word of your post.

Yeah, I forgot what Digital Nazis they are. ;)

SpankyPenzaanz
Nov 10, 2006, 11:34 AM
It(1080p) does over component but hddvd playback is retricted to a resoultion i conat remember right now. It depends on whether tv will accept it or not

MacRumorUser
Nov 10, 2006, 12:23 PM
To be honest, I've hooked up the 360 to a 1920x1200 24" dell and displayed at 1080p when the update came out.

Then I switched to 1080i and viewed a DVD, both looked identical.

Games looked the same, so I don't know what the point quite is at the moment.

patseguin
Nov 10, 2006, 12:38 PM
I went home at lunch and set it up and played 5 minutes of the King Kong HD-DVD. All I can say right now is OH MY GOD! Picture quality is absolutely astounding on my 61" Samsung S6187W TV. I hit info on the TV remote and it showed 1080i, as I suspected it would and you guys confirmed. I did buy the VGA HD cable on the way home and will try it later. I am guessing that will give me 1080p and upconverting for regular DVD's. As another poster mentioned though, I am not sure I will notice any difference between 1080i and 1080p. We'll see I guess...

On another note, I want my brother to get one of these HD-DVD's for his 360. He currently does not have internet so I am not sure how he will get the necessary software download from Live for 1080p and HD DVD support. My drive did come with an install disk so I wonder if that has the necessary update.

EDIT: Here's a post a saw over on AVS Forum:

Wow lets clear up the resolution issue once and for all.

VGA= 1080P on HD-DVD, Games, SD-DVD

Component= 1080P Games, 1080I HD-DVD, 480P SD-DVD

These are the facts.

MacRumorUser
Nov 10, 2006, 12:54 PM
HD-DVD drive... is it noisy or silent ?

patseguin
Nov 10, 2006, 12:58 PM
HD-DVD drive... is it noisy or silent ?

Silent. Doesn't add any noise to the 360 sound at all.

MacRumorUser
Nov 10, 2006, 01:00 PM
cool... I may be tempted to get one at the end of the month here when they are released. I have about 10 360 games I never play anymore that would more than cover the trade in....