PDA

View Full Version : Mac Pro Or G5...

jams
Nov 11, 2006, 06:30 AM
hi people

i'm a designer (after effects, photoshop, illustrator mainly) and am wanting a powerful machine to use for freelance at home.

ive been looking at mac pro's but i really dont need the crashes and glitches that ive been hearing about in photoshop and illustrator etc...

by the time the new cs comes out and after effects, i'm sure there will be an even more powerful mac pro. but i dont really want to wait, who really knows when the new cs will be out, does anybody have any thoughts as to how long this whole COMPATIBILITY thing will drag on for??

at work i have a dual 2.5 g5, 2gb ram, 256 graphics, my after effects files do get pretty hefty, i do ok with 2gb ram though.

i want a machine as powerful as my work machine, obviously, preferably faster...

should i...

buy a dual g5 and upgrade in say, 2 years? (which is when i would probably upgrade anyway)

buy a macpro, deal with the issues and hope for the best??

i'd really like to hear peoples thoughts on what they think i should do.

cheers!

Sherman Homan
Nov 11, 2006, 06:42 AM
The issues you raise about buying the latest and greatest have been true since forever. There is always some risk in being a pioneer, some safety in following behind. None of the concerns you have about the next crop of computers will be resolved when they come out. By then the Mac Pros will be rock solid (and slow!) compared to whatever comes next (OctoCore?) I think it has always been that way!

srf4real
Nov 11, 2006, 06:45 AM
ha ha "octocore":p
I like it! Have you trademarked that yet? I'm not buying another computer until they come out with a tele-transporter built in. My g5 will still be running...:cool:

Chone
Nov 11, 2006, 06:48 AM
If you can wait 2 months for CS3... you'll be glad you got the Mac Pro.