Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

dnadna

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Nov 15, 2006
Hello everyone,

i really can't wait to get a laptop and switch to Mac.
However i am a student and i really don't want to spend $2.5k on a laptop that wouldn't let me connect to my university wireless and has a really grainy display.

So i am asking:

how much time do you guys think it will be safe to wait to get a MBP C2D with all of these issues fixed?

I know that noone can know this.. but i'm just asking you to guess :D

Thanks!

yudilks

macrumors regular
Jan 30, 2006
Our guesses are meaningless.... If it meets what you have been expected, you are happy, if majority think that it will be earlier than what you expected, you'll be more happier.. And vice versa.... You got my point???

brikeh

macrumors 6502a
Jan 24, 2006
Well Apple would have to stop cutting corners and that might take some time. If you dont want a MBP with a crappy display you might wanna look elsewhere.

jellomizer

macrumors 6502
Sep 12, 2006
Upstate NY
Not to sound like an Apple Apoligest but what type of Crappy Wireless does your University Use that Apple Cannont connect to it. I have been able to connect my 667Mhz Powerbook that is about 5 years old any wireless connection that I had a password for. That is an 802.11b card. As far as I know the new cards are 802.11n draft. Which are pritty much the latestest and greatest.

Hls811

macrumors 6502a
Apr 19, 2004
New Jersey
right now.

my new c2d MBP has a clear display and great wireless.

do not let a few people on a forum complaining make you think the entire line is bad; it isn't.

I agree... my display looks great and haven't had any issues with wireless at all (and its the only method I use to connect to the internet at home and work).

If you're reading message boards and using that as a gauge for when you should purchase.. it'll be a long wait.

jellomizer

macrumors 6502