PDA

View Full Version : Aspyr Ships Civilization IV: Warlords for Macintosh


MacBytes
Nov 15, 2006, 04:08 PM
http://www.macbytes.com/images/bytessig.gif (http://www.macbytes.com)

Category: Games
Link: Aspyr Ships Civilization IV: Warlords for Macintosh (http://www.macbytes.com/link.php?sid=20061115170811)
Description:: Aspyr announced that Sid Meier's Civilization IV: Warlords has begun shipping in North America for Macintosh. Sid Meier's Civilization IV: Warlords, a Mac OS X Universal application, is licensed from 2K, a Take-Two Interactive Software publishing label, and was developed for Mac by Aspyr Studios.

Posted on MacBytes.com (http://www.macbytes.com)
Approved by Mudbug

auxplage
Nov 15, 2006, 04:12 PM
Time for me to go spend $30 and waste hours of my time. :o /:)

QCassidy352
Nov 15, 2006, 05:52 PM
sweet! :D

mainstreetmark
Nov 15, 2006, 07:19 PM
OK, I'll ask.

The game is Universal Binary.

They ported source code from the intel platform to the mac platform, only to have it recompiled back to intel?

Or, are games more closely tied to the operating system since I was last involved. Like, is the Mac port really about using OpenGL vs DirectX or something?

I had half expected that once macs got on Intel, the PC games would make it over to our side quicker.

mdntcallr
Nov 15, 2006, 07:35 PM
cool, always liked civ series.

Eric5h5
Nov 16, 2006, 09:32 PM
They ported source code from the intel platform to the mac platform, only to have it recompiled back to intel?

Um, no. There is no "Intel platform"...Intel makes x86 chips, not operating systems. Windows and Intel are two entirely different things.


Or, are games more closely tied to the operating system since I was last involved.

They've always been mostly tied to the operating system.

I had half expected that once macs got on Intel, the PC games would make it over to our side quicker.

For now it's slower, because they have to do PPC and x86 testing. Once PPC is dropped, there's about a 10-15% speedup because of not having to convert endian issues. But the vast majority of the porting (from Windows) still has to be done.

--Eric

Grakkle
Nov 16, 2006, 09:40 PM
I used to play civ III...finally gave it up because it was using too much time.:o It's always a temptation to get back into it though - so addicting!

LWGray
Aug 1, 2007, 11:50 AM
Anyone know how to play the multiplayer option on line?

I can't find any online area that hosts a Civ IV game but I assume there must be one otherwise the game wouldn't be shipped with the option to play online.

Any ideas? I tried Game Spy but can't find a Mac version.

FleurDuMal
Aug 1, 2007, 11:54 AM
The Mac version is crap. Incredibly slow. Do yourselves a favour and play it through Bootcamp :(

iStudent
Aug 1, 2007, 03:07 PM
I might have to go out and give this a try... the Windows Boot Camp version like posted above works beautifully, but I'd love for it to run natively in OS X. Hopefully we'll see Beyond the Sword soon for :apple:! :cool: