PDA

View Full Version : Apple Store has a new "chat now" feature


MacBytes
Nov 21, 2006, 08:14 PM
http://www.macbytes.com/images/bytessig.gif (http://www.macbytes.com)

Category: Apple Services
Link: Apple Store has a new "chat now" feature (http://www.macbytes.com/link.php?sid=20061121211433)
Description:: That experiment with chat and the education store must have gone well, as the public Apple Store has recently become a little chattier with the seemingly quiet introduction of a new "chat now" feature to its product pages.

Posted on MacBytes.com (http://www.macbytes.com)
Approved by Mudbug

Doctor Q
Nov 21, 2006, 08:23 PM
It's not yet clear who sees this and when. It may still be undergoing experimental usage. I've seen various reports -- that it's generally available, that it's still available only for education sales, and that it's available for computer purchases, not for iPod purchases. None of these seem to be the case all the time.

jholzner
Nov 21, 2006, 09:22 PM
Well, it's been at least semi availabe for a few months 'cause I chatted with someone on there a month or two ago. Didn't have any questions, just wanted to see how it worked. The person I talked to was very nice.

Mackilroy
Nov 21, 2006, 11:03 PM
Well, it's been at least semi availabe for a few months 'cause I chatted with someone on there a month or two ago. Didn't have any questions, just wanted to see how it worked. The person I talked to was very nice.

I saw that myself back after I got my MacBook I was nosing around the store and suddenly the chat box popped up. I didn't take the opportunity but it was interesting.

wmmk
Nov 21, 2006, 11:07 PM
this is fairly slow, and the person I'm talking to doesn't seem much like a person to be honest

x86isslow
Nov 22, 2006, 03:44 AM
i'd figured this to be quite normal, but then the article said that the education stores (where i shop) had it first. i didn't know that. spose you learn something new every day.

MacBoobsPro
Nov 22, 2006, 03:51 AM
I can't see it in the UK store. Although there is an 0800 (freephone) number to call if you are stuck configuring a MP which I havent noticed before. Its quite prominent at top of screen.

autrefois
Nov 22, 2006, 11:32 AM
Doesn't show up for me on the regular or education store, whether I was logged in or not. I tried looking at different machines to be sure.

For people who have gotten it, does it show up on different product pages you load, just pro machines, or just randomly?

TomSmithMacEd
Nov 23, 2006, 12:55 AM
I actually used this months ago while buying my macbook

it was really nice, it added to the experience of buying online.

The people behind it though you could tell had to stick to a pretty formal script.

puckhead193
May 17, 2007, 11:43 AM
i was fooling around with the chat now, is a computer or is it an actual person. My instinct tells me its a computer...