PDA

View Full Version : What specs are we expecting




mac pro
Nov 30, 2006, 09:23 PM
Does anyone know what specs/upgrades we should be expecting with the next revision of the Mac Pros besides the obvious 4 core chips...but what would the processor speeds be? GraFX? etc..Wouldnt this also mean we can have 32 GB of RAM?



Sun Baked
Nov 30, 2006, 09:28 PM
The Mac Pro used the same chipset as the XServe, so you can use 32GB of RAM now.

If you can look at the price for 32GB of RAM and don't faint at the $24k cost.

Xavier
Nov 30, 2006, 09:54 PM
32 gb of ram is unheard of. For a home use computer, at least at this time, you probably wont need anything over 4gb if that.

Does anyone know if there are going to be any better G-cards coming out for the Mac Pro?

SmurfBoxMasta
Dec 1, 2006, 05:41 AM
For a home use computer, at least at this time, you probably wont need anything over 4gb if that.

Does anyone know if there are going to be any better G-cards coming out for the Mac Pro?

With intel machines being the ram hogs they are, if you use Rosetta and/or windblows, 4GB is about the minimum nowadays......

neggy on da new gfx cards....they'll come out when apple says they'll come out :(

NJuul
Dec 1, 2006, 06:26 AM
The Mac Pro used the same chipset as the XServe, so you can use 32GB of RAM now.

If you can look at the price for 32GB of RAM and don't faint at the $24k cost.

errr..... Like to see how you'd fit 16 2-gig chips into 8 slots

kwood
Dec 1, 2006, 06:56 AM
errr..... Like to see how you'd fit 16 2-gig chips into 8 slots

They do sell 4Gb sticks

http://www.tigerdirect.ca/applications/SearchTools/item-details.asp?EdpNo=2280021&CatId=2354

plus the XServe only has 8 slots.

pastrychef
Dec 1, 2006, 06:56 AM
errr..... Like to see how you'd fit 16 2-gig chips into 8 slots

I think you'll have an easier time putting eight 4GB sticks of RAM in there.

Macinposh
Dec 1, 2006, 07:32 AM
With intel machines being the ram hogs they are, if you use Rosetta and/or windblows, 4GB is about the minimum nowadays......




Bollocks.


Dont be such a elitist.


We are running couple MPs with 2-3GB memory,with CS 2 and Lightroom/Aperture just fine.
Steady workflow with 5-10 70-250MB pics open.


Could it be faster? Hell yeah!
Would more memory be nice? Sometimes yeah!
Are we getting by just fine? Yeah!
Will we buy more memory down the road! Oh yeah!

Sesshi
Dec 1, 2006, 08:06 AM
With intel machines being the ram hogs they are, if you use Rosetta and/or windblows, 4GB is about the minimum nowadays......(

Yeah. OS X & Intel isn't a good combo for memory right now. I can get more done in Windows on one of the Precision 690s that I mis-specced with 2Gb of RAM.

I'd like to see built-in support for SAS drives as most of the new 5000X boards are coming with that. Perhaps Apple will offer one of the 8800's as an option, seeing as when the refresh comes along this won't be the latest graphics card (I notice they never offer the latest).

Perhaps a new case? Not that the Pro needs it since it's still the prettiest 'desktop' around but beyond that I don't see revolutionary changes at this point.

Mind you, I probably won't be changing this machine anytime soon - depending on Vista experiences it might be the last Apple desktop I buy for quite a while.

On a different level though, looking at the usage patterns of many users here (and myself for the Pro) I'd like to see an architecture change or split for the Pro range. I doubt - given the choice of Apple boxes that you have nowadays - that many users are using the applications to benefit from the Pro's system architecture, which is basically identical to the Dell Precision 690, a high-end workstation. What I'd like to see is an equivalent of the Dell XPS 710 for the OS X platform that is designed to be Boot Camped for gaming - I think that might attract even the hardcore enthusiast users if they know Boot Camp won't involve any compromises at all.

NJuul
Dec 1, 2006, 09:12 AM
They do sell 4Gb sticks

http://www.tigerdirect.ca/applications/SearchTools/item-details.asp?EdpNo=2280021&CatId=2354

plus the XServe only has 8 slots.

My apologies, guess they can go to 32 Gb then.
Didn't know those chips were for sale yet.
:o

Sun Baked
Dec 1, 2006, 09:19 AM
My apologies, guess they can go to 32 Gb then.
Didn't know those chips were for sale yet.
:o

They have been for sale on the AppleStore for weeks (just check the XServe Memory section part number MA507G/A), which is where the $24k price was from.

Of course the XServe memory lacks the finned heatsinks.