PDA

View Full Version : Making the switch, cheap [iBook content]

kevincme
Dec 7, 2006, 04:44 PM
Like a lot of people, I like my iPod, and I think I'd like to go all the way and give a Mac a shot. I don't know why I've never considered one before, just never been around them enough I guess. I'm a poor student though, so I want to do this on the cheap. Just get a little taste.

I've been looking around, and right now I'm pretty set on an iBook G3. I think I can get one for under $300 - ~$200 being ideal. For that price point I think I'm looking at 12", 500-600mHz, ~256mb ram. It won't be powerful, but I only want it for basic stuff: web, office, listening to music, mathematica. No games, media editing, etc. Ideally I'd like to be able to lightly multitask.

I know people are still happily using the G3, but I'm concerned if it will be powerful enough. I know I can get a G4 for right under $500, probably even around $400, but that is already more than what I want to spend - I already have a solid laptop (Thinkpad).

Will the G3 provide enough power for a satisfactory experience and allow me to get the full feel of a Mac, or do I really need to be looking at a G4 here? A G3 I'm looking at right now is going to come with Tiger installed, at 500mHz and 384mb ram - I'm not sure that's going to be enough.

Also, I've heard about logic board problems on the G3's? Anything else I need to be considering here?

Any tips from those with experience? Or how about something to sell me :D

Cheers

mick4394
Dec 7, 2006, 05:20 PM
Like a lot of people, I like my iPod, and I think I'd like to go all the way and give a Mac a shot. I don't know why I've never considered one before, just never been around them enough I guess. I'm a poor student though, so I want to do this on the cheap. Just get a little taste.