PDA

View Full Version : Photoshop and Automator




Cloudgazer
Dec 11, 2006, 01:19 AM
Hi

I've just started using Automator and need some help creating a workflow.

I have a folder of images that I need to turn into thumbnails, then add a watermark, and save to a different folder.

(I do have the Photoshop Cs plugin for Automator)

I just can't get it to work.

Please help.



aricher
Dec 11, 2006, 08:36 AM
Why would you use Automator to do what you want to do? I'd set up an Action in Photoshop with each step you outlined and then use Photoshop's built-in batch feature (Automate -> Batch). It's super easy to set up, just record the Action on one file, save the Action, go to File -> Automate -> Batch, select the save action, select a folder then sit back and let it do it's thing.

freeny
Dec 11, 2006, 01:09 PM
Actions in Photoshop are just like Automater in the OS.
Just look up "recording actions" in the Photoshop help menu.
Then look up "Batch-process files" to apply your action to a whole folder of images.

Just like aricher said, you dont need automater to do this.

I once had to format 400+ mobile jpg wallpapers into png thumnails half the size. Took 5 minutes to set up and Photoshop did all the rest of the work in under 10 minutes. Doing this by hand would have taken a day plus...:eek:

Cloudgazer
Dec 12, 2006, 01:02 AM
Thanks for the replies.

Will definately try that.