PDA

View Full Version : So... How do I install Photoshop plugins?




dopey220
Dec 12, 2006, 07:06 PM
I have some Camera RAW files that I want to play with in Photoshop, but I can't get the Plugin to work. I tried double-clicking the plugin icon to install, and PS told me the format wasn't recognized. It didn't work when I copied the file into the plugins folder. Now I'm out of ideas.



Blue Velvet
Dec 12, 2006, 07:10 PM
1. Not all plug-ins are compatible with different versions of Photoshop.

2. When a plug-in is placed in the Plug-ins folder, Photoshop needs to be restarted in order to load the plug-in.

3. Plug-ins may have to go within specific sub-folders within the Plug-ins folder e.g. Import/Export, File Formats...

What version of Photoshop are you using, what is the plug-in and what version is it?

dopey220
Dec 12, 2006, 07:24 PM
I'm using CS2, and the plugin I'm trying to install is the CameraRAW plugin, version 3.6 I believe. I already know that the camera used to take the pictures is compatible with the plugin, but I didn't restart Photoshop after the install. I'll try that next.