Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

bronxbomber92

macrumors regular
Original poster
Nov 23, 2006
Ok, well this has been ported three time today! :p

Two in carbon (one of them by me) and the other in Cocoa. The two carbon ones need multi-threading, else they get the spinning wheel. But the cocoa has Multi-threading and works fine :)

I would like to improve mine and add multi threading, but I'm afraid I'm a complete noob when it comes to Multi-Threading (and Carbon, but I was able to scratch this up, good huh for my first time in Carbon? :p). So if anyone would mind dedicating time to me to help me learn enough to make this run well, I would HIGHLY appreciate it!!

My version - http://www.bronx-development.ardo.org.uk/files/luaplayer/LuaPlayer.zip

Thanks,
Jedd

caveman_uk

Feb 17, 2003
Hitchin, Herts, UK
From simply typing the function name into xCode's documentation window I got this

MPCreateTask
Creates a preemptive task.

Modified

OSStatus MPCreateTask (
TaskProc entryPoint,
void * parameter,
ByteCount stackSize,
MPQueueID notifyQueue,
void * terminationParameter1,
void * terminationParameter2,
MPTaskOptions options,
MPTaskID * task
);
Parameters
entryPoint
A pointer to the task function. The task function should take a single 32-bit parameter and return a value of type OSStatus.

parameter
The parameter to pass to the task function.

stackSize
The size of the stack assigned to the task. Note that you should be careful not to exceed the bounds of the stack, since stack overflows may not be detected. Specifying zero for the size will result in a default stack size of 4KB.

Note that in Mac OS X prior to version 10.1, this parameter is ignored, and all stacks have the default size of 512 KB. Versions 10.1 and later do not have this limitation.

notifyQueue