PDA

View Full Version : american flag in menu bar won't go away

noises
May 8, 2003, 04:29 AM
please can somebody help me to remove the american flag in my menu bar??

i'm not american & have come to detest much of what that flag represents. it's a small thing, but...

i have a japanese keyboard attached to my imac running os x.2.5 & so need to use the american (roman) settings under system preferences > international > input method.

i untick every other input method & the flag goes away. fine. except when i restart, the bloody flag is back again. so back to system preferences > international > input method & the british flag is ticked along with the american one. why?

i made the switch in jan & i still feel like a complete newbie. any help would be much appreciated.

peterjhill
May 8, 2003, 05:40 AM
Go to system preferences: International, input methods. If you have more than two items checked, whichever active set is used will have the flag show up. If you need two, it will be difficult to remove the flag, you can manually change it instead of using the menu and deselect the other keyboards.

bryng
May 8, 2003, 06:34 AM
I've had a similar problem, on and off, on my iBook 800. I ended up fixing some errors with the file system on my hard disk, and it seems to have improved things.

Don't know if that's your issue - try running the disk utility and get it to check your boot disk.

noises
May 8, 2003, 09:08 AM
i'd appreciate some more help from bryng...

as i said, every time i start up my imac the flag is there even though i've deselected all other input methods before shut down. this happens every day. can anybody tell me why?

I ended up fixing some errors with the file system on my hard disk, and it seems to have improved things.

can somebody please elaborate. again, i'm a newbie & don't yet know my tit from my arse when it comes to system files.

goodnight from japan.

noises
May 8, 2003, 09:13 AM