Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

jimthorn

macrumors 6502a
Original poster
Apr 24, 2003
Huntington Beach, CA, USA
I'm a long-time Mac user, but I am NOT a programmer. I've tinkered around with Xcode, following examples, etc. but all the Xcode/PB/IB tutorials assume that you have a background in programming. I have a lot of great ideas for applications I could use on a daily basis, but I am lacking the core knowledge I need to even begin working on them.

Does anyone have a recommendation on a good beginning C programming book that is really for beginners who have NEVER coded at all? I am sure that if I can just get through the beginning stages, I can get much more from Apple's (and other) Xcode tutorials.

I only have access to Macs, so a book that expects you to work on a PC wouldn't be of much help. (Yes, I understand that C is the same from OS to OS, but a book that expects you to work in a PC-based IDE, with examples specific to that IDE, would only serve to make this education more difficult). If I'm wrong about that assumption, feel free to correct me.

Any help here or advice would be greatly appreciated. Thanks.

bronxbomber92

macrumors regular
Nov 23, 2006
Well, any book that is teaching a programming language assuming no experience shouldn't have any thing IDE specific (unless your learning a language like C# or Objective-C). So, pick up any C book (preferably by O'Reily) or some other well suggested book like this: http://cm.bell-labs.com/cm/cs/cbook/. If you want a book that teaches a programming language, with specifics to Xcode, buy a Objective-C book (which is based on Ansi C, just "extended").

MacRohde

macrumors regular
Jun 1, 2004
Copenhagen, Denmark
Kochan