PDA

View Full Version : Unit 909 - 250000 Steps????




MrMacMan
May 10, 2003, 10:54 PM
WOW, IMPOSSIBLE!

I can't believe I acually got a gromac unit, that will take, forever.

Yay, get no credit for a unit that will take lets see, according to this, what the hell 30 days? :eek:



MacBandit
May 13, 2003, 02:03 AM
Well I didn't get a gromacs but I got a doozy or should I say doozies as I have a dual and I got two of these beasts.

Get this I have 50 days to complete them. 5,000,000 steps. Project number is '638' if you want to look it up. They're worth 70.9 points each. I think I'll leave my computer on over night for this to be sure I complete them.

MrMacMan
May 13, 2003, 06:16 AM
It only takes you 1 day to complete 2 70 pointers?
wow, nice

Mr. Anderson
May 13, 2003, 06:57 AM
The number of steps are misleading if you've never had a Gromacs WU before. Look at the point total and that gives you a better idea how long it will take. I've got 2 running on two of my machines now and they'll finish a little faster than a non Gromacs of the same point value.

D

mc68k
May 13, 2003, 10:55 AM
a common misconception is that exceeding the deadline means no credit for work done. what it really means is that it takes too long for the time-sensitive project to considered valid/useful since the benchmarking machine is a 400MHz celeron.

so u will get credit, but it won't be used by stanford-- the unit will have been assigned to another machine.

MacBandit
May 13, 2003, 01:55 PM
Originally posted by MrMacman
It only takes you 1 day to complete 2 70 pointers?
wow, nice

I wish. No I usually only fold durring the day I hate the amount of power consumption that the computer uses. Though of late I have left the computer on over night a few times to be sure to complete my units in a timely manner.

MrMacMan
May 13, 2003, 03:03 PM
Originally posted by Mr. Anderson
The number of steps are misleading if you've never had a Gromacs WU before. Look at the point total and that gives you a better idea how long it will take. I've got 2 running on two of my machines now and they'll finish a little faster than a non Gromacs of the same point value.

D
So far this gromac unit has run slower than by 40 point unit, it is finally half way done and will still be another 2-3 days off.
:(

And Will love you running folding Bandit! :)

MacBandit
May 13, 2003, 03:07 PM
Originally posted by MrMacman
So far this gromac unit has run slower than by 40 point unit, it is finally half way done and will still be another 2-3 days off.
:(

And Will love you running folding Bandit! :)

Thanks, I think the team needs the help. 37 out of 400 down. Looks like things are going a bit faster then I thought.

eyelikeart
May 16, 2003, 07:56 AM
Folding@Home Client Core Version 2.47 (June 14, 2002)

Proj: work/wudata_09
Done: 22945 -> 142972 (decompressed 623.1 percent)
nsteps: 5000000 dt: 2.000000 dt_dump: 250.000000 temperature: 298.000000
xyzfile:
" 393 p638_L939_K12M_ext
1 N 15.319586 11.261895 82.917795 20..."
keyfile:
"parameters ./proj638.prm
NOVERSION
ARCHIVE

cutoff 16.0
taper 12...."

- Couldn't get size info for dyn file: work/wudata_09.dyn
Starting from initial work packet

Protein: p638_L939_K12M_ext
- Run: 1962934272 (Clone 838860800, Gen 33554432)
- Frames Completed: 0, Remaining: 400
- Dynamic steps required: 5000000

MacBandit
May 16, 2003, 01:47 PM
Originally posted by eyelikeart
Folding@Home Client Core Version 2.47 (June 14, 2002)

Proj: work/wudata_09
Done: 22945 -> 142972 (decompressed 623.1 percent)
nsteps: 5000000 dt: 2.000000 dt_dump: 250.000000 temperature: 298.000000
xyzfile:
" 393 p638_L939_K12M_ext
1 N 15.319586 11.261895 82.917795 20..."
keyfile:
"parameters ./proj638.prm
NOVERSION
ARCHIVE

cutoff 16.0
taper 12...."

- Couldn't get size info for dyn file: work/wudata_09.dyn
Starting from initial work packet

Protein: p638_L939_K12M_ext
- Run: 1962934272 (Clone 838860800, Gen 33554432)
- Frames Completed: 0, Remaining: 400
- Dynamic steps required: 5000000

That's just like the two I've been working on all week. They're supposed to be done by tuesday. Though I don't think that's going to happen since I've left my computer on all week and I'm only at 181 of 400 on each of them.

I know there is a simple way to check your power on hours but I can't seem to either remember the program or the terminal command.