PDA

View Full Version : 1Gb SODIMM in 12" PowerBook?


mstecker
May 13, 2003, 07:23 PM
I'm trying to figure out whether or not (and if not, why not) a 1G SODIMM would work in a 12" PowerBook (bringing the total memory to 1.156G.

I recall that when the 12" came out, the largest PC2100 DDR SODIMM made was 512MB. Now IBM makes a 1G part:

http://www-3.ibm.com/pc/support/site.wss/MIGR-46508.html?doctype=

This KB article from Apple:


http://docs.info.apple.com/article.html?artnum=14870

indicates that the maximum memory is 640 (the 128M built in with a 512M SODIMM), but is this a limitation of the memory controller? Or just a practical limitation of what was on the market when that was written? Anyone want to try this out for me?

iJon
May 13, 2003, 07:40 PM
it will work, its already been confirmed by another company who made them.

iJon

Freg3000
May 13, 2003, 07:59 PM
It will work, but I think it will only see 1GB, not the 1152 MB or whatever it is. I think the motherboard (or something on it) limits how much RAM the computer will see to 1GB.

mstecker
May 13, 2003, 08:07 PM
Does anyone have a link for someplace that will sell me one of these today? My googling is turning up (shockingly!) a bunch of useless stuff.

M.

Freg3000
May 13, 2003, 08:38 PM
Originally posted by mstecker
Does anyone have a link for someplace that will sell me one of these today? My googling is turning up (shockingly!) a bunch of useless stuff.

M.

Got 700 bucks? :) That is how much I remember it costing when I read about the 1 GB DIMM.

If I find it, I'll post it though, no matter how much it costs.

t^3
May 13, 2003, 09:36 PM
It's a lot more than $700, but this site usually has the best deals:

http://dealram.com/prices/25/1GB.html

QCassidy352
May 13, 2003, 11:14 PM
wow... $80 for 512, $1100 for 1 gig. Not exactly getting your money's worth there...

It'll have to come down, but right now that's just crazy. over 50% the cost of a brand new 12" PB for and extra 512 RAM??

patrick0brien
May 13, 2003, 11:22 PM
Originally posted by QCassidy352
50% the cost of a brand new 12" PB for and extra 512 RAM??

-QCassidy352

Commoditization my friend. I too am eagerly waiting for others to introduce these chips so we can get reasonable prices...

maradong
May 13, 2003, 11:42 PM
well even if nobody needs it :D but that meens the 17'' can hoold up to 2 giga of ram ?

donigian
Jun 4, 2003, 09:53 PM
Originally posted by Freg3000
It will work, but I think it will only see 1GB, not the 1152 MB or whatever it is. I think the motherboard (or something on it) limits how much RAM the computer will see to 1GB.

Thank you, thank you, thank you. I'm so glad that someone else knows that a GigaByte is 1024 MB.

tjwett
Jun 5, 2003, 10:39 AM
Originally posted by maradong
well even if nobody needs it :D but that meens the 17'' can hoold up to 2 giga of ram ?

Actually the 12" and the 17" have a maximum RAM capacity of 4Gb. Will we ever see an affordable 4Gb chip in the next few years? Probably not. :(