PDA

View Full Version : I'm a runner-should I get a Ipod Video or Ipod Nano?

markw10
Jan 12, 2007, 02:17 AM
I do a lot of running, 5 times a week, about 3 miles a week. I've been using a iRiver 20GB based mp3 player for the last 2 years and have never had a problem with it.
Now that I've switched to Mac I've decided to switch to Ipod. I like the small size of the shuffle but don't like the lack of a screen. I've looked heavily at the nano but want the video and as well 8 gigs just doesn't seem like enough to me. I'm mostly interested in the 30 gig Ipod video model.
From talk over the last couple years I've heard how runners should stay away from hard drive based models only going with flash. If I need to make this choice I would choose the 8gb nano but then would want to get a ipod video for around the home use and honestly don't have the money to purchase 2 models. How safe is a ipod video for running/jogging?

markw10
Jan 12, 2007, 02:23 AM
I left this off but I will get the FM Remote with whichever model I go with. As well, I know the nano is more compact but the size won't really bother me. The iriver I have now I do well with and that is larger than a ipod Video.

liketom
Jan 12, 2007, 02:26 AM
get iPod Nano plus Nike+ you will never look back

see here http://forums.macrumors.com/showthread.php?t=266468

MacNut
Jan 12, 2007, 02:33 AM
Depends how far you are running and how much music you want to store.

After G
Jan 12, 2007, 02:36 AM
I don't think either would skip, as the hard-drive based iPods load songs into an anti-skip buffer and play off that. I'd be worried about bulkiness, but it seems you have considered that. I personally like the nano form factor more (have a 1g nano) and the fact that flash will NEVER skip but if there's a pressing need for video or higher capacity by all means get what fits you best.

DMBGuru
Jan 12, 2007, 02:54 AM
No matter about skipping... think about the moving parts.