Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

Sancho

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Jan 22, 2007
I'm new to objective-C programming and I have a few questions.

What is the proper way to create a dynamically typed array? I want objects that have an array member whose type is decided at the time of initialization of the object.

I'm used to being able to do this in C++ with template parameters: Vector<float, 3> obj; (actually this decides it at compile time, but the point is that I don't have to write a bunch of different vector classes; in Objective-C this is avoided by the dynamic run-time typing and I don't know how to take advantage of it in this case)

I'm using an NSMutableArray right now, but it requires objects, not objCTypes like int, float, etc. So, I have to go through the NSNumber object to add the elements to the array. Then, when I want to retrieve the elements, I want to retrieve them in the non-object type that the object was instantiated with (int, float, etc.), but I don't know how to record the underlying type to which they should be cast back to. Am I missing something? Am I thinking too much like c++? What is the proper solution to this problem?

Thanks,
Sancho

HiRez

macrumors 603
Jan 6, 2004
Western US
If you want a generic object, create as an 'id' type instead of statically typing it, it can be whatever you want as long as it's an object. As far as storing primitive types within NSArrays, yes that can be a PITA, you must go through NSNumber or other object type in both directions. If you really need to know the original primitive type, I think the easiest way would be to create a custom object, a wrapper around NSNumber which stores the original type as an attribute (could just be an int enum code you have set up for the type), and use that object type in your array instead of NSNumber.

Soulstorm

macrumors 68000
Feb 1, 2005