PDA

View Full Version : Switching soon - some advice needed!

Phil_S
May 20, 2003, 02:28 AM
Hi,

In a week or so I'm going to be a new switcher, hopefully to a 12" iBook. I've never used a Mac before (except for playing around in the store a little) so I have a few questions - sorry if they're really obvious:

1) My wife sometimes has to bring home some Word files from her work to edit. As far as I can understand, AppleWorks can read these .doc files. Are there any problems or issues with this, or would I be better off getting hold of the Mac version of Office?

2) As soon as I get the iBook I'm going to want to max out the RAM. From looking at the Apple site it looks pretty straightforward but I'm not amazingly technically-minded so is there anything I need to look out for or bear in mind while doing this?

3) This one's a little more general - when I had a play with the iBook in the store, 10.2 seemed pretty intuitive but is there anything major that I need to know regarding differences between this and Windows in terms of getting stuff done, handling files etc?

Apologies again if these are dumb questions - guess I'm a bit nervous of the unknown!

Thanks in advance!

arn
May 20, 2003, 02:34 AM
Hey... well, congrats on the switch decision.

1) Appleworks will read .doc files... but depending on the complexity of the document... you may or may not run into problems. I've found that more complicated tables etc... don't come through intact. However... basic documents are fine. The may have improved this lately... I don't open that many .doc files myself. So, I wouldn't go out and buy Word right off until you give it a try and see how it goes.