PDA

View Full Version : Languages

tazo
May 23, 2003, 07:01 PM
Do you speak more than one language? If so do you ever use them?

I am in my third year of Spanish, and am taking a fourth next year.

Today I really made a breakthrough in the language, when I was chatting with a hispanic person at my school, in spanish, and him callling me a little green bitch. :) A true breakthrough when the cultural and oral boundaries are broken down by swearing. :o :)

so what languages does everyone know beside their native one?

sparkleytone
May 23, 2003, 07:12 PM
i speak spanish and english of course.

i am currently working on italian and german.

next yr i start with french.

pseudobrit
May 23, 2003, 07:14 PM
Well, I think for many people here who are not from the US or the UK, they're speaking their native tongue, but it's foreign to everyone else. Just a thought for when throwing around terms like "foreign language" :)

As for me, I understand a touch of Russian, French and Gaeilge (trying to learn that one right now) and have a pretty good working knowledge of German.

jelloshotsrule
May 23, 2003, 07:15 PM
english, and i can understand some french, though not if spoken by a fast speaking french or canadian person. :)

i can speak it some too, but i've never been one for putting on accents, so i'm not great at it.

mactastic
May 23, 2003, 07:18 PM
How about "Who speaks more than one language?"
I spoke german sort of, but then stopped and have forgotten most of it. Oh and I learned how to swear like a sailor in spanish from working in a restaurant with a bunch of crazy mexican guys.

job
May 23, 2003, 07:52 PM
I speak German and English fluently.

If anyone cares...

wdlove
May 23, 2003, 08:08 PM
I didn't take any foreign any foreign languages. Worked with 2 ladies that spoke & write Spanish fluently. One was born with English and the other was born with Spanish. They tried to teach me some Spanish. I leaned a few words to read & speak being around them for 5 years!

Ugg