PDA

View Full Version : Buying from eBay? =/




Elphaba
Feb 5, 2007, 09:26 PM
I've been looking around for a good place to buy Windows XP. Today I noticed that eBay is selling copies for around 30 dollars, like this one (http://cgi.ebay.com/NEW-Windows-XP-Professional-FULL-VERSION-SP2_W0QQitemZ300078167620QQihZ020QQcategoryZ41888QQrdZ1QQcmdZViewItem) for example. They claim it's unopened in the original box. Would it be a good idea to just skip this offer and buy from newegg or some other website? I need your help :D



macjay
Feb 5, 2007, 09:33 PM
That's an auction, and $30 is just the current bid. It's not for sale at that price.

Elphaba
Feb 5, 2007, 09:43 PM
That's an auction, and $30 is just the current bid. It's not for sale at that price.

I know it's an auction, thanks. I just want to know whether or not it would be safe to buy it from eBay :)

CanadaRAM
Feb 5, 2007, 09:49 PM
I know it's an auction, thanks. I just want to know whether or not it would be safe to buy it from eBay :)

And ... there's no way anybody can tell you, because it depends on the honesty of the individual seller. You are not buying it from eBay, you're buying it from randomdude4174@ aol. com who you will likely never know the true name and address of.

Rough estimate, 75% of the software on eBay is pirated, being sold outside of the license terms, incomplete, or is otherwise not as described.

iBookG4user
Feb 5, 2007, 09:50 PM
My suggestion is to look at their feedback. The one you linked to only has two visible auction feedback and both are for magic the gathering items, so I find it funny that they are suddenly selling windows xp pro. Just be weary of who you buy it from and look for feedback of similar items from the seller.

Elphaba
Feb 5, 2007, 10:11 PM
Thanks for your advice :) I guess i'll just take the safe route and buy it from a reliable website.