PDA

View Full Version : Cable modem - any kind?


P-Worm
May 31, 2003, 03:19 PM
Comcast (the cable internet provider for my area) is now open for my house. I want to change my DSL account to cable, but I have some questions:

There is a monthly fee to rent the modem. They said that I can get the normal rate if I buy the modem. Will nay generic cable modem work? If so, what do you suggest?

I heard from somebody that if the connection starts getting bogged down with users that they will instal another line. Does anyone know if Comcast will do this?

P-Worm

funkywhat2
May 31, 2003, 06:53 PM
My Uncle has Comcast out in Indiana, and he has a generic Linksys Cable Modem. However, he's had a few problems with it.

If you are to buy one I think that the Motorola SurfBoard Modems are the best. Avoid the 3Com one that looks like a shark's fin, they're pretty crappy.

Good luck with it.

Also: What do you think of DSL? I may end up getting it, with cable being so damned expensive where I am and the dial-up I am being forced to use so incredibly slow.

MrMacMan
May 31, 2003, 09:59 PM
Surfboard modems or that extera one...

I have a surf board, but I heard the 3Comm ones blow.

mactastic
May 31, 2003, 10:22 PM
Surfboard here too, works great. Makes my airport base station happy:)

springscansing
May 31, 2003, 11:01 PM
Surfboard here works great. Nothing to compare it to though... except an Teryon which sucks ass. (spelling may be off on that)

springscansing
Jun 1, 2003, 01:05 AM
:p

(... I think I am in love ... )

springscansing
Jun 1, 2003, 01:08 AM
;)

rainman::|:|
Jun 1, 2003, 01:24 AM
i have a linksys. it has trouble establishing a connection after almost every load balancing (which the bastards do every month, they're too cheap to get enough equipment)... i can't say that i would buy linksys again.

i think Apple needs to make a cable modem add-on that communicates well with the Mac, since there's an obvious unfilled need for this :)

in my dreams, i suppose...

pnw

szark
Jun 1, 2003, 01:37 AM
Originally posted by paulwhannel
i have a linksys. it has trouble establishing a connection after almost every load balancing (which the bastards do every month, they're too cheap to get enough equipment)... i can't say that i would buy linksys again.

Weird. I have the Linksys modem and I've never had any issues with it. But I agree on the SurfBoard -- several people I know use it and have no problems.

senseibiz
Jun 1, 2003, 02:42 AM
I think you should purchase the modem, instead of renting it every month. my company COX Cable, charges around $5 a month. I purchased the modem for $75.
in the long run, you will be paying more if you rent it. just something to think about.
good luck

P-Worm
Jun 1, 2003, 10:00 AM
Thanks guys. Yeah I'm looking to buy it and I'm strongly leaning to that SurfBoard model.

Funkywhat2-

DSL has been OK. It's much faster than dial-up, but not in the Cable range. I typically am seeing about 50K, but I think I am on the outskirts of the 'circle of acceptance.' DSL gets slower with distance from the central hub. Try calling to see what you will typically get. In my area, DSL and cable are the same price. Why not upgrade?

P-Worm

medea
Jun 1, 2003, 06:45 PM
i bought mine from comcast and they gave me an rca, no problems with it though it's not a brand I would have ever thought to buy.

funkywhat2
Jun 1, 2003, 08:00 PM
Originally posted by P-Worm
Thanks guys. Yeah I'm looking to buy it and I'm strongly leaning to that SurfBoard model.

Funkywhat2-

DSL has been OK. It's much faster than dial-up, but not in the Cable range. I typically am seeing about 50K, but I think I am on the outskirts of the 'circle of acceptance.' DSL gets slower with distance from the central hub. Try calling to see what you will typically get. In my area, DSL and cable are the same price. Why not upgrade?

P-Worm

Thanks for the info. I'm close to the central hub, so it shoutdn't be that much of an issue, but I will miss my Optimum Online. It may come back in the fall (yay!!!!)
:D :D

MrMacMan
Jun 1, 2003, 08:07 PM
Originally posted by funkywhat2
Thanks for the info. I'm close to the central hub, so it shoutdn't be that much of an issue, but I will miss my Optimum Online. It may come back in the fall (yay!!!!)
:D :D
I have OOL, they are kinda annoying, (they called me when I was downloading UT2K3 Demo because they thought I was using P2P! :mad: )

shadowfax
Jun 1, 2003, 08:25 PM
Originally posted by MrMacman
I have OOL, they are kinda annoying, (they called me when I was downloading UT2K3 Demo because they thought I was using P2P! :mad: ) LOL. sounds like a mom and pop organization that phones your house to tell you you've been looking at porn and chide you for it (or tell your parents if you're underage.) hahaha, trashé, trashé!

MrMacMan
Jun 1, 2003, 10:41 PM
Originally posted by Shadowfax
LOL. sounds like a mom and pop organization that phones your house to tell you you've been looking at porn and chide you for it (or tell your parents if you're underage.) hahaha, trashé, trashé!
Not really, they are owned by Cablevision
should be here (http://optonline.net/)
But right now I'm not getting through.

I was getting like 300 KB/sec for a large demo and aparently it was downloading 2 times, so i guess they red flagged me... :eek:

ibookin'
Jun 1, 2003, 11:27 PM
I have Adelphia cable modem service and they gave me a Terayon TJ715 modem that has been really good so far.

funkywhat2
Jun 2, 2003, 11:00 AM
Originally posted by MrMacman
I have OOL, they are kinda annoying, (they called me when I was downloading UT2K3 Demo because they thought I was using P2P! :mad: )

Really? I've never been flagged down, even after d/ling like six things at once. Had lots of bandwidth at my disposal, but it was at like, fivr in the morning. I'm not much for sleep.

MrMacMan
Jun 2, 2003, 05:24 PM
Originally posted by funkywhat2
Really? I've never been flagged down, even after d/ling like six things at once. Had lots of bandwidth at my disposal, but it was at like, fivr in the morning. I'm not much for sleep.

Trust me, I wasn't even trying to overuse my bandwitch!

Plus they cap you so what the hell is there problem? :confused:

It was sorta weird, they just wanted to know what the hell I was doing, they are the ISP, it aint hard to see when I am downloading off of legal sites... :o

tpjunkie
Jun 4, 2003, 12:12 AM
Man, I've done a lot worse than that at home, and I'm on comcast...they've never ever complained about it either....now that I'm at school, my brother runs a hotline server off the thing, and has been for about 5 months, and they haven't complained yet

MrMacMan
Jun 4, 2003, 06:26 AM
Originally posted by tpjunkie
Man, I've done a lot worse than that at home, and I'm on comcast...they've never ever complained about it either....now that I'm at school, my brother runs a hotline server off the thing, and has been for about 5 months, and they haven't complained yet

Yeah but that is constantly.

Mine was my download peaked around 700 KB/sec...:rolleyes:

donigian
Jun 5, 2003, 08:21 PM
I've got Comcast, too. And I'm renting the modem because when we got it the modem were out-the-a** expensive. The $5 a month charge seemed easy to swallow. Now every Sunday advertisement offers a Cable Modem for <$50 if you buy new service. Well, obviously I'm not getting new service to buy the modem. And, heh, I don't pay the bills.

But, seriously, buy the modem for cheap from Circuit City or Best Buy or someplace like that. You can save a lot if you get it with rebates or discounts, plus get all the enjoyment of high-speed surfing without paying Comcast for the modem continually. It's akin to renting your phone from Mama Bell back in the day, sheer ripoff.