PDA

View Full Version : Problem with iBook g4




cwedl
Mar 3, 2007, 06:26 AM
Hi,

my friend has an iBook g4 and it comes up with this upon start up about 7/10 times and other times it starts so I assume that its the hard drive. I have reinstalled the os and it doesn't make any difference.

http://img89.imageshack.us/img89/5936/photo73ly3.jpg

and

http://img444.imageshack.us/img444/9885/photo74pn7.jpg

do you think its the harddrive? if it is, where would I be able to by a replacement? in the uk that is, sorry about this I'm more of a software guy!



cwedl
Mar 3, 2007, 01:59 PM
Hi Guys

Surely someone can help me?

Love
Mar 3, 2007, 02:03 PM
When it displays that, it means it can't find an OS on the HD. HD might be going.

MacsRgr8
Mar 3, 2007, 02:13 PM
That screen tells you the Mac can't find a drive to boot from.

If it flashes like that say for about 30 seconds and then boots, then usually the Startup Disk is set to "Network Volume" (i.e. NetBooting), and is temporarily waiting for that until it finally gives up and boots form the internal HD.

But, if you have reinstalled the OS, the Startup Disk will be set to the HD onto which you have installed it, so that can't be it anymore.

But you can reset the PRAM anyway:
(Re)boot while pressing and holding the following keys until you have heard the startup chime 4 times:
<COMMAND> <OPTION> <P> <R>
(this will defenitely set the Startup Disk to the internal HD)

It seems more likely that the internal HD is starting to die... Sometimes it mounts, and then the iBook starts, but sometimes it doesn't, and you keep that question mark flashing on your screen.

If you insert the install CD does the iBook allways boot? You could also try to connect a FireWire drive and install OS onto that....
If in both cases the iBook boots normally, I'm pretty sure it is the internal HD (or a cable connected it to it).

cwedl
Mar 3, 2007, 04:52 PM
But you can reset the PRAM anyway:
(Re)boot while pressing and holding the following keys until you have heard the startup chime 4 times:
<COMMAND> <OPTION> <P> <R>
(this will defenitely set the Startup Disk to the internal HD)


This seems to be working, thanks for that! I started recently not being able to get into it at all, this seems to have sorted the problem out. I will keep you posted.