PDA

View Full Version : Can I upgrade both ram chips on my eMac




icesac26
Mar 9, 2007, 02:03 PM
I am thinking of getting a 512 chip for my eMac to upgrade. Can i take the 256 chip out and put a 512 ram chip in its place so I have a 1 gig. I have the eMac 1.25 Ghz (last model). any suggestions. I want my mac faster and can't afford an upgrade.

Thanks,

Donny



Eidorian
Mar 9, 2007, 02:20 PM
You have two slots in the eMac. (2 x 512 MB) I'm not sure sure how many are populated right now. It does sound like one though. So you have (256 + 512 MB = 768 MB)

CanadaRAM
Mar 9, 2007, 02:35 PM
Yes:
Both sockets are accessible, and the machine does not need (nor take advantage of) matched pairs, so you can add whatever you like. The machine can go up to 2 Gb of PC2700 DDR DIMMs (2 x 1 Gb)

Thanks
Trevor
CanadaRAM.com

Eidorian
Mar 9, 2007, 02:40 PM
Yes:
Both sockets are accessible, and the machine does not need (nor take advantage of) matched pairs, so you can add whatever you like. The machine can go up to 2 Gb of PC2700 DDR DIMMs (2 x 1 Gb)

Thanks
Trevor
CanadaRAM.comAnything limiting it to 1 GB other then what Apple actual says? I was hoping 2 GB would be the real limit.

maxeythecat
Apr 19, 2007, 01:16 AM
Excellent to learn this....you mean I can actually get 2 GBs of memory for this thing?? Cool! That along with an external harddrive should boost the performance of this baby like crazy and keep this kitty plenty happy for some time to come!