PDA

View Full Version : Is the Powerbook G4 WPA capable?




Caezar
Mar 13, 2007, 03:53 AM
Is the Powerbook G4 12" 1.5 Mhz (i.e. the latest 12-inch Powerbook) WPA-capable? I tried to set up WPA security yesterday but it did not work.

Thanks.



swiftaw
Mar 13, 2007, 03:53 AM
It should be, my 15" Powerbook G4 is connected to my WPA network

Caezar
Mar 13, 2007, 03:55 AM
It should be, my 15" Powerbook G4 is connected to my WPA network

Thanks. It probably means I am not WPA-capable myself. I'll sign up for a computer science degree at the University of Phoenix and see whether it improves things.

swiftaw
Mar 13, 2007, 03:56 AM
What router do you have?

Caezar
Mar 13, 2007, 04:02 AM
What router do you have?


I just bought the Belkin Wireless G+ MIMO router.

MRogers recommended the Linksys WRT54G or the Airport Extreme, but neither is available in Taiwan. Belkin was the only renowned brand I found.

You might think that computer stuff is easy to find and cheap in Taiwan, since most is produced here or in China by Taiwanese OEM manufacturers. But the truth is that everything is horribly expensive compared to HK or the US and the choice is really limited.

epochblue
Mar 13, 2007, 08:51 AM
I have a Linksys WRT54G and a 15" Powerbook and I use WPA. Works a treat.

lamina
Mar 13, 2007, 09:01 AM
If the router isn't accepting the WPA password from your PB, try putting a $ in front of it.

Example $password

Don't know why, but it works (sometimes)

epochblue
Mar 13, 2007, 09:06 AM
If the router isn't accepting the WPA password from your PB, try putting a $ in front of it.

Example $password

Don't know why, but it works (sometimes)

Really? That's wild - I've never heard that before...