PDA

View Full Version : Apple TV Manual and Support Documents




MacRumors
Mar 22, 2007, 11:14 AM
http://www.macrumors.com/images/macrumorsthreadlogo.gif (http://www.macrumors.com)

Apple has posted support documents (http://www.apple.com/support/appletv/) for the Apple TV with troubleshooting guides and quick start (http://docs.info.apple.com/article.html?artnum=305185) guides.

Also provided is a PDF (http://manuals.info.apple.com/en/AppleTV_UserGuide.pdf) of the Apple TV user manual.

Gizmodo has posted a video (http://www.macrumors.com/c.php?u=http%3A%2F%2Fgizmodo.com%2Fgadgets%2Fapple-tv%2Ffirst-video-setting-up-apple-tv-246124.php&t=1174579807) of the Apple TV being first setup, and also shows the startup video previously reported (http://www.macrumors.com/2007/02/19/appletv-startup-movie/).

Meanwhile, the first customers have started receiving (http://forums.macrumors.com/showthread.php?t=289839) their Apple TV orders today. Visit our iPod, iTunes, Apple TV discussion forum (http://forums.macrumors.com/forumdisplay.php?f=75) for future discussion and questions about the Apple TV.



milo
Mar 22, 2007, 11:29 AM
So has anyone with one tested to see if the digital audio passes surround sound?

Doctor Q
Mar 22, 2007, 11:46 AM
The doorbell rang while I was reading the first post in this thread. Sure enough, it was Fedex with my :apple:TV! Now I've got a big job ahead of me, remembering how my entertainment system is set up and figuring out which cables I already have or will be going off to buy. More business for Best Buy (http://www.macrumors.com/2007/03/22/apple-tv-at-best-buy/)!

Digitalclips
Mar 22, 2007, 11:48 AM
So has anyone with one tested to see if the digital audio passes surround sound?

Not yet ... tomorrow :)

Meanwhile this is interesting ...

http://www.thismuchiknow.co.uk/?p=24

Clive At Five
Mar 22, 2007, 11:51 AM
Apple has posted support documents (http://www.apple.com/support/appletv/) for the Apple TV with troubleshooting guides and quick start (http://docs.info.apple.com/article.html?artnum=305185) guides.

Also provided is a PDF (http://manuals.info.apple.com/en/AppleTV_UserGuide.pdf) of the Apple TV user manual.


Is this a surprise? Macrumors didn't give a damn when Apple posted support documents for my iMac.

Hooray for "news."

-Clive

BuzWeaver
Mar 22, 2007, 11:53 AM
Another little AppleTV video from Crave:

http://crave.cnet.com/8301-1_105-9699916-1.html?tag=cnetfd.mt

twoodcc
Mar 22, 2007, 11:58 AM
cool stuff....looking forward to playing with one

Master Atrus
Mar 22, 2007, 12:07 PM
How is this rated negative????? Are we upset because Apple is posting documentation?

I'm confused .... :confused: :confused: :confused:

Digitalclips
Mar 22, 2007, 12:07 PM
The doorbell rang while I was reading the first post in this thread. Sure enough, it was Fedex with my :apple:TV! Now I've got a big job ahead of me, remembering how my entertainment system is set up and figuring out which cables I already have or will be going off to buy. More business for Best Buy (http://www.macrumors.com/2007/03/22/apple-tv-at-best-buy/)!

You didn't make sure you had a cable all ready waiting or ordered with the ATV???? Wow... that's so, er calm? :eek:

I have the HD TV already pulled forward for rear access, the space cleared for the ATV and the cable hanging in place ... I just have to see the Fed Ex truck now. Just going back outside to look ...

Digitalclips
Mar 22, 2007, 12:08 PM
How is this rated negative????? Are we upset because Apple is posting documentation?

I'm confused .... :confused: :confused: :confused:

Don't let it get you down. Some people are just negative by nature ;)

wavelayer
Mar 22, 2007, 12:17 PM
If it was a hundred bucks cheaper a lot more people would have one. :D :eek: :confused: :rolleyes: ;) :p

Diatribe
Mar 22, 2007, 12:18 PM
Not yet ... tomorrow :)

Meanwhile this is interesting ...

http://www.thismuchiknow.co.uk/?p=24

VERY interesting link. Thanks for sharing.

Trekkie
Mar 22, 2007, 12:29 PM
My wife has informed me that two boxes from apple showed up today, they weren't supposed to be here until tomorrow so yay I get to go check it out tonight.

Darkroom
Mar 22, 2007, 12:29 PM
Quick Start Guide: Apple TV Fast Start: The New User's Guide to Apple TV.


shouldn't that be "The New User's Guide For Apple TV"?

localoid
Mar 22, 2007, 12:31 PM
Not yet ... tomorrow :)

Meanwhile this is interesting ...

http://www.thismuchiknow.co.uk/?p=24

Here's something else some may find interesting on the subject of Apple and 5.1 surround sound on an earlier iTune streaming device, from an online article: The Developers Guide to iTunes (http://www.freesoftwaremagazine.com/comment/reply/1120).

In 2004, Apple further expanded the iTunes music platform with the introduction of AirPort Express base stations. The Airport Express device is a smaller version of Apple’s Airport wireless access hardware. The Airport Express had also improved upon the older designs by including a dedicated USB hub, for printers and audio output ports, allowing connection between standard stereo equipment and wireless networks. To communicate with the Airport Express audio features, iTunes was given new functionality that sent audio to local Airport Express units. With this feature, iTunes users can use connected stereo devices to listen to their protected audio tracks. In addition to the analog stereo output port, Apple also integrated a digital 5.1 surround sound output into the device. (However there are currently no applications or content that can use the 5.1 surround sound feature as Apple has restricted access to third-party developers’.)

Apple's original press release (http://www.apple.com/pr/library/2004/jun/07airport.html), from 2004 when the AirPort Express was released, states the device allows "users to connect AirPort Express to a home stereo, powered analog speakers or the latest digital 5.1 surround sound systems." However, if you look at the current AirPort Express product page (http://www.apple.com/airportexpress/) there is no mention of "5.1 surround sound" in regards to the product. Perhaps some forum user actually using AirPort Express can tell us whether or not 5.1 is possible(?)

There must to be good reason for all of the "Great 5.1 Mystery" surrounding both of these devices... :rolleyes:

Digitalclips
Mar 22, 2007, 12:37 PM
My wife has informed me that two boxes from apple showed up today, they weren't supposed to be here until tomorrow so yay I get to go check it out tonight.

I'd leave work early ;)

Digitalclips
Mar 22, 2007, 12:41 PM
There must to be good reason for all of the "Great 5.1 Mystery" surrounding both of these devices... :rolleyes:

Maybe Apple suspect Alcatel-Lucent are going to claim ownership of 5.1 and start litigation ;)

macjackpro
Mar 22, 2007, 12:51 PM
The airport express has an (optical) digital out. This supports 5.1. The Apple TV also has optical digital out. So....

I think there will be a slow upgrading of the content, the iTunes software and the Apple TV software.



Here's something else some may find interesting on the subject of Apple and 5.1 surround sound on an earlier iTune streaming device, from an online article: The Developers Guide to iTunes (http://www.freesoftwaremagazine.com/comment/reply/1120).



Apple's original press release (http://www.apple.com/pr/library/2004/jun/07airport.html), from 2004 when the AirPort Express was released, states the device allows "users to connect AirPort Express to a home stereo, powered analog speakers or the latest digital 5.1 surround sound systems." However, if you look at the current AirPort Express product page (http://www.apple.com/airportexpress/) there is no mention of "5.1 surround sound" in regards to the product. Perhaps some forum user actually using AirPort Express can tell us whether or not 5.1 is possible(?)

There must to be good reason for all of the "Great 5.1 Mystery" surrounding both of these devices... :rolleyes:

mdntcallr
Mar 22, 2007, 12:56 PM
i just got the apple tv. works great.

wish it could buy HD tv and movies also.

who knows. its cool and so easy to set up.

Digitalclips
Mar 22, 2007, 01:07 PM
i just got the apple tv. works great.

wish it could buy HD tv and movies also.

who knows. its cool and so easy to set up.

How did you get it to work with out a High Definition TV?

~Shard~
Mar 22, 2007, 01:18 PM
How did you get it to work with out a High Definition TV?

Apple TV supports component video as well as HD via HDMI, no?

Avatar74
Mar 22, 2007, 01:46 PM
They just arrived at Apple Store Southdale in Edina, MN. I've got a unit on hold so I can at least see their floor demo units first. I'm pretty sure it's a go for me but I just want to have a hands-on quick inspection to make sure there are no glaring minuses.

But I do have a couple of questions... The specs state 1GHz G4... has anyone who received a unit today run this on a slower machine? I have a 1GHz G4 laptop but I'd prefer to use my G4 933MHz Quicksilver tower. I don't think there'll be any big issues... possibly streaming limitations. Any idea?

Also, curious if it is certain that these units have an Intel HD Audio chipset... and whether or not there's truth to some statements that the HD Audio chipset has a built-in Dolby Digital Live transcoder. That would immediately underscore an intent to support multichannel surround output. Thoughts?

Digitalclips
Mar 22, 2007, 01:53 PM
Apple TV supports component video as well as HD via HDMI, no?

OK, so you are running component into a 4:3 SD TV or a wide screen SD TV? Just curious about other uses of ATV.

~Shard~
Mar 22, 2007, 02:02 PM
OK, so you are running component into a 4:3 SD TV or a wide screen SD TV? Just curious about other uses of ATV.

Unsure on the details, I just know that it has component and HDMI outputs... Don't have one myself and won't since I'm in Canada and our iTMS is crippled, thus denying us the majority of the content for Apple TV in the first place. :rolleyes:

localoid
Mar 22, 2007, 02:21 PM
...
Also, curious if it is certain that these units have an Intel HD Audio chipset... and whether or not there's truth to some statements that the HD Audio chipset has a built-in Dolby Digital Live transcoder. That would immediately underscore an intent to support multichannel surround output. Thoughts?

Yes. The statements are "based on truth," per Intel (http://www.intel.com/design/chipsets/hdaudio.htm), re: Intel® High Definition Audio (Intel® HD Audio).

Google (intel hd audio dolby digital live ) can also provide info about Intel's HDA & Dolby Digital Live... ;)

But this doesn't mean Apple's products, including Apple TV, actually have fully *implemented* this feature, nor does this mean that Apple TV actually has such a chipset onboard. Therefore, the question is "does it work", e.g., is it implemented, for as Intel notes on their site (http://www.intel.com/design/chipsets/hdaudio.htm): "Some HD Audio functionality is dependent on actual implementation, controller, and codec."

That (whether it's implemented) is the burning question.

Hasa
Mar 22, 2007, 02:35 PM
How did you get it to work with out a High Definition TV?

You don't need HDTV, although it is optimized for it. You can use Enhanced Def TVs (EDTV) as well.

purpleviking
Mar 22, 2007, 02:50 PM
found these dissection photos:

http://s22.photobucket.com/albums/b343/briantr/Apple%20TV/

nice pics of the logic board, tho i would love to see the bottom of the board as well. the nvidia geforce go 7300 GPU is clearly visible.

lazyrighteye
Mar 22, 2007, 02:54 PM
Meanwhile this is interesting ...
http://www.thismuchiknow.co.uk/?p=24

Handy info. Great blog.
Thanks for sharing.

pjarvi
Mar 22, 2007, 03:01 PM
found these dissection photos:

http://s22.photobucket.com/albums/b343/briantr/Apple%20TV/

nice pics of the logic board, tho i would love to see the bottom of the board as well. the nvidia geforce go 7300 GPU is clearly visible.

Looks like they still don't know how to apply thermal grease properly. :rolleyes:

aafuss1
Mar 22, 2007, 03:04 PM
I'd like to own a AppleTV-but as I only have a SD Sony CRT TV (a 7 yr old 59cm KV-XF25M30) where my Mac and PC is and no TV or movies on the Aus iTunes store-I wouldm't want one yet.


purpleviking-thanks for the link to the internal photos. Noticed the HD in the unit was a Fujitsu.

I wonder if the AppleTV uses mostly philips head or TORX screws.

Oh wait-and there looks like there isn't a service manual available for the AppleTV to tell you how to service the product-just like with iPods.

Apple's fast-start guides are brilliant-worth bookmarking.

Airport-looks like the AppleTV uses a Broadcom chipset.

kjs862
Mar 22, 2007, 03:07 PM
found these dissection photos:

http://s22.photobucket.com/albums/b343/briantr/Apple%20TV/

nice pics of the logic board, tho i would love to see the bottom of the board as well. the nvidia geforce go 7300 GPU is clearly visible.


Thanks for sharing, but the apple tv looks like it was thrown together. Doesn't really look that neat on the inside.

Digitalclips
Mar 22, 2007, 03:35 PM
You don't need HDTV, although it is optimized for it. You can use Enhanced Def TVs (EDTV) as well.

I assume ATV 'letter boxes' by default on a 4:3?

Ah! What a moment of excitement ... FedEx just came but only with the HDMI cable ... ATV still West Coast in transit ...

uNext
Mar 22, 2007, 03:36 PM
can this thing stream avi, xvid and so on?

i have a mac mini i use as a media server which till today was connected to my tv through dvi to hdmi. I am seriously considering apple tv my local apple store have them in stock heading over there after work.

if apple tv can stream any file format then im so there buying it.

Digitalclips
Mar 22, 2007, 03:39 PM
found these dissection photos:

http://s22.photobucket.com/albums/b343/briantr/Apple%20TV/

nice pics of the logic board, tho i would love to see the bottom of the board as well. the nvidia geforce go 7300 GPU is clearly visible.

So I wonder if changing the HD is a big deal? Looks really easy to get at on underside of the top and if it's Mac OS X formatted ... Who is going to be first to try and let me know? ;)

Poff
Mar 22, 2007, 03:42 PM
the nvidia geforce go 7300 GPU is clearly visible.

So... since rumors have it :apple:TV might have games in the future, what kind of games can be played with a geforce go 7300?

Digitalclips
Mar 22, 2007, 03:44 PM
can this thing stream avi, xvid and so on?

i have a mac mini i use as a media server which till today was connected to my tv through dvi to hdmi. I am seriously considering apple tv my local apple store have them in stock heading over there after work.

if apple tv can stream any file format then im so there buying it.

I think that's been covered and it can't... however I suspect Leopard will increase what can be sent as I read even the desk top of Leo can hit the big screen via ATV. So who knows what else can ... :)

aeneas07
Mar 22, 2007, 03:59 PM
I just picked one up over lunch at the chicago store on michigan ave. however there was no display set up, not even a sign. At first I didn't even think they had them until I saw them hidden on the shelf under the iPod speaker docks. It was kinda weird. You think they would have had all the marketing stuff waiting at the stores since this was delayed.

Doctor Q
Mar 22, 2007, 04:02 PM
This is mildly annoying: If you have both the HDMI and component video cables plugged in, the :apple:TV will output only through HDMI.

If, for some reason, I want to connect my Apple TV to my other A/V equipment in multiple ways (i.e., HDMI to one of the TV inputs and also component connections to the receiver), I'd want to be able to use software (the remote control) to change which output is used, on the fly. I certainly wouldn't pull my equipment out of the cabinet to connect/disconnect cables every time I wanted to change back and forth.

For audio, this isn't an issue, since :apple:TV outputs audio both ways at once.

My old TV had that "feature" with its inputs. I couldn't connect multiple inputs to it because it gave one "priority" and ignored the other, even when the only active signal was on the other line.

Diatribe
Mar 22, 2007, 04:06 PM
This is mildly annoying: If you have both the HDMI and component video cables plugged in, the :apple:TV will output only through HDMI.

If, for some reason, I want to connect my Apple TV to my other A/V equipment in multiple ways (i.e., HDMI to one of the TV inputs and also component connections to the receiver), I'd want to be able to use software (the remote control) to change which output is used, on the fly. I certainly wouldn't pull my equipment out of the cabinet to connect/disconnect cables every time I wanted to change back and forth.

For audio, this isn't an issue, since :apple:TV outputs audio both ways at once.

My old TV had that "feature" with its inputs. I couldn't connect multiple inputs to it because it gave one "priority" and ignored the other, even when the only active signal was on the other line.

Please tell me this is some sort of sick joke. If the lack of HD content and surround sound wasn't enough of a repellent, now I can't even connect a TV AND my projector?
Way to go Apple. :mad:

vkxonline
Mar 22, 2007, 04:13 PM
I just picked mine up from Woodfield (a 'burb of Chicago). This thing is AMAZING! All the negative Nacys will change their tune the second they pick this thing up. Everything is so fast and fluid . . . even on my wireless g network! To be honest, I can't even really imagine why this needs a harddrive at all.

Another thing - there's an ethernet port! When was that added? I was almost positive this was wireless only.

Doctor Q
Mar 22, 2007, 04:19 PM
Another thing - there's an ethernet port! When was that added? I was almost positive this was wireless only.That was known. The interface specs are:AirPort Extreme, Wi-Fi 802.11b, 802.11g, or 802.11n wireless network, or 10/100BASE-T Ethernet network

Digitalclips
Mar 22, 2007, 04:35 PM
Please tell me this is some sort of sick joke. If the lack of HD content and surround sound wasn't enough of a repellent, now I can't even connect a TV AND my projector?
Way to go Apple. :mad:

Hey guys go buy a component switch box they solve the problem perfectly. I use one in my HD editing suite. Here is a link to one example.

http://www.m80.net/1154a/

I think you will see this is nice and only $219 but explains why with ATV at $299 Apple didn't include this technology since most folks wouldn't need it.

Diatribe
Mar 22, 2007, 04:48 PM
Hey guys go buy a component switch box they solve the problem perfectly. I use one in my HD editing suite. Here is a link to one example.

http://www.m80.net/1154a/

I think you will see this is nice but costly equipment and explains why at $299 Apple didn't include this technology since most folks wouldn't need it.

I think you misunderstood. I want to use the HDMI output but since it is given priority over the component you could only get a HDMI switch, and I don't feel like spending double what the :apple:tv costs for something that should be basic funcitonality.

Digitalclips
Mar 22, 2007, 04:59 PM
I think you misunderstood. I want to use the HDMI output but since it is given priority over the component you could only get a HDMI switch, and I don't feel like spending double what the :apple:tv costs for something that should be basic funcitonality.

I think I understood, I simply meant use component instead of HDMI and a switch and solve your problem, it is just as good (don't flame me). BTW. I have seen this sort of issue on a lot of video gear over the years where use of one output can shut off other outputs. Additional amplifiers would often be required to use both and that drives cost up. Seriously though this gear is so cheap these days. You should have seen the cost of a video switch a few years ago when Betcam SP was the de-facto standard. Thousands of dollars went nowhere! For a nice complex home entertainment system $219 is nothing for the flexibility.

Doctor Q
Mar 22, 2007, 05:14 PM
Additional amplifiers would often be required to use both and that drives cost up.I assume that's only if you used both outputs at once. I merely wanted to have control, from the front of the box, over which output is used while cables were connected to both the HDMI output and the component video outputs.

Digitalclips
Mar 22, 2007, 05:19 PM
I assume that's only if you used both outputs at once. I merely wanted to have control, from the front of the box, over which output is used while cables were connected to both the HDMI output and the component video outputs.

Yes I have seen that in other gear too. Just being plugged in can isolate another output. S-Vid if plugged in commonly shuts off composite. I agree it is a royal pain. Given ATV is a computer maybe that will be possible down the road. It would just require an extra menu option to select which output was required.

Cult Follower
Mar 22, 2007, 05:38 PM
I can't beleive how much fun this is--just looking at the manuals.:p

exodar
Mar 22, 2007, 06:14 PM
I can CLEARLY see a 480i option in that setup menu! So HDTV isn't really a requirement after all. I have a Sony Wega 32" Standard Def TV with Component Inputs and it looks as thought I might be able to get an AppleTV after all!

Can someone with a SDTV with Component Inputs hook it up and verify?

Thanks...
exodar

EagerDragon
Mar 22, 2007, 06:36 PM
if you switch libraries back and forth (say 2 or more computers) and you have done the link/sync between them once, do you have to go thru that re-link process entering the 5 digit number each time fou switch between them??? That would be bad

Rocketman
Mar 22, 2007, 07:08 PM
Please tell me this is some sort of sick joke. If the lack of HD content and surround sound wasn't enough of a repellent, now I can't even connect a TV AND my projector?
Way to go Apple. :mad:

Macworld verified it.

http://www.macworld.com/weblogs/editors/2007/03/appletvbriefing/index.php

I suspect it does not have the processor capacity to output at max res to two formats at once.

Rocketman

bwilfong
Mar 22, 2007, 08:32 PM
"The specs state 1GHz G4... has anyone who received a unit today run this on a slower machine? I have a 1GHz G4 laptop but I'd prefer to use my G4 933MHz Quicksilver tower. I don't think there'll be any big issues... possibly streaming limitations."

Where are the specs that state 1 Ghz? I don't see them online anyplace or in any other post or thread??

Diatribe
Mar 23, 2007, 09:32 AM
Macworld verified it.

http://www.macworld.com/weblogs/editors/2007/03/appletvbriefing/index.php

I suspect it does not have the processor capacity to output at max res to two formats at once.

Rocketman

Thanks. Thing is though, I don't need it to output it at once. Just a switch would've been nice.