PDA

View Full Version : Company of Heroes...


LilMissMac
Mar 28, 2007, 11:07 PM
Does it exist for mac? If so, where can I find it?
Thank you in advance!

crazzyeddie
Mar 28, 2007, 11:24 PM
It doesn't exist for the Mac. The best thing to do would be to use Boot Camp and buy the PC version.

LilMissMac
Mar 28, 2007, 11:30 PM
It doesn't exist for the Mac. The best thing to do would be to use Boot Camp and buy the PC version.

I'm gonna sound liek as much of a newb as i am to this board.... what is boot camp? lol
thanks

Veritas&Equitas
Mar 28, 2007, 11:35 PM
I'm gonna sound liek as much of a newb as i am to this board.... what is boot camp? lol
thanks
Boot Camp (http://www.apple.com/macosx/bootcamp/) It allows you to install Windows on your Intel Mac so that you can play PC games if you want. You'll need a copy of Windows w/SP2 obviously as well.

P.S. Although, Company of Heroes runs like horse dung on a Macbook, probably averages about 20-25 fps and looks pretty terrible. You'd probably need a Macbook Pro with the dedicated graphics card to run it well

Eidorian
Mar 28, 2007, 11:46 PM
It runs great with medium textures on my iMac. I have every other setting on high though. I'm just limited to Medium textures since I have 128 MB of video RAM. If you want the best performance I suggest 256 MB of video RAM at minimum.

It's dual core optimized too. :D

Veritas&Equitas
Mar 29, 2007, 12:05 AM
It runs great with medium textures on my iMac. I have every other setting on high though. I'm just limited to Medium textures since I have 128 MB of video RAM. If you want the best performance I suggest 256 MB of video RAM at minimum.

It's dual core optimized too. :D
Exactly, the Macbook (which I assume the OP has, since it's in her sig) doesn't have a dedicated gpu, yours does. That's why your iMac runs it well, and her Macbook won't.

Eidorian
Mar 29, 2007, 12:08 AM
Exactly, the Macbook (which I assume the OP has, since it's in her sig) doesn't have a dedicated gpu, yours does. That's why your iMac runs it well, and her Macbook won't.I wouldn't even try running CoH on an integrated video chipset.

LastLine
Mar 29, 2007, 04:32 AM
I wouldn't even try running CoH on an integrated video chipset.

I wouldn't worry about it - the 945 inside hte Macbook actually handles it surprisingly well. I used to play it on there regularly and y'know? It actually didn't look horrible, played nice and smooth.

Veritas&Equitas
Mar 29, 2007, 12:18 PM
I wouldn't worry about it - the 945 inside hte Macbook actually handles it surprisingly well. I used to play it on there regularly and y'know? It actually didn't look horrible, played nice and smooth.
Well, if you think 20-25 fps is smooth, I guess you and I have a totally different definition of what smooth is. When I played CoH on my Macbook, it was terrible. Of course, I'm a "gamer," and have a pretty nice PC rig for gaming. I guess for people that really don't play that much, they perceive 20-25 fps as good, I don't like anything under 50 myself...

Eidorian
Mar 29, 2007, 12:31 PM
I wouldn't worry about it - the 945 inside hte Macbook actually handles it surprisingly well. I used to play it on there regularly and y'know? It actually didn't look horrible, played nice and smooth.Maybe with everything set to low and at 640x480. Even at Medium textures the game has somewhat muddy textures. Antialiasing and widescreen resolutions really make the game more bearable.

LastLine
Mar 29, 2007, 01:40 PM
Maybe with everything set to low and at 640x480. Even at Medium textures the game has somewhat muddy textures. Antialiasing and widescreen resolutions really make the game more bearable.

Just had a boot up and check - running on native resolution for the Macbook - has a variety between low and mid - being honest? I could probably tweak and get a different set up to run smoother/prettier, but I don't use my laptop for gaming much

Well, if you think 20-25 fps is smooth, I guess you and I have a totally different definition of what smooth is. When I played CoH on my Macbook, it was terrible. Of course, I'm a "gamer," and have a pretty nice PC rig for gaming. I guess for people that really don't play that much, they perceive 20-25 fps as good, I don't like anything under 50 myself...

Respectfully? Anyone paying for a 750/850 laptop isn't buying it as a gaming rig. Different things for different people.

Eidorian
Mar 29, 2007, 03:26 PM
Just had a boot up and check - running on native resolution for the Macbook - has a variety between low and mid - being honest? I could probably tweak and get a different set up to run smoother/prettier, but I don't use my laptop for gaming much.

Company of Heroes videocard performance (http://www.techspot.com/article/20-company-of-heroes-3d-performance/page2.html)

Low 1 (http://www.techspot.com/articles-info/17/images/NVIDIA_LowQuality_01.jpg)

Medium 1 (http://www.techspot.com/articles-info/17/images/NVIDIA_MediumQuality_01.jpg)

Low 3 (http://www.techspot.com/articles-info/17/images/Low3.jpg)

Medium 3 (http://www.techspot.com/articles-info/17/images/Medium3.jpg)

Veritas&Equitas
Mar 29, 2007, 04:04 PM
Respectfully? Anyone paying for a 750/850 laptop isn't buying it as a gaming rig. Different things for different people.
Exactly my point. She does intend to use it as a gaming rig to play CoH, and wondered about performance. Hence, I said she wouldn't be able to run CoH well. There's no doubt that an integrated gpu is terrible for gaming performance.

LilMissMac
Mar 30, 2007, 12:55 PM
Thanks everyone -

I've decided not to run it on my mac and just bought more ram for my windows machine so i can run it there. I'm not a huge fan of windows, or anything windows based so I am really hesitant on putting boot camp on my mac.

:apple: :) I appreciate the help :D :apple: