PDA

View Full Version : New Graphics Card...(Help)


robotrenegade
Mar 29, 2007, 02:54 PM
My apple screen died today. It was one of the old displays. I bought a new one today (23in) and now I need a graphics card to run DVI. What is the best card for Dual G5 2.0ghz?

killmoms
Mar 29, 2007, 02:56 PM
My apple screen died today. It was one of the old displays. I bought a new one today (23in) and now I need a graphics card to run DVI. What is the best card for Dual G5 2.0ghz?

Is that the first rev dual 2.0 G5 with the AGP 8x slot? I believe in that case the best card you can get is the 256MB ATI Radeon X800. That's just off the top of my head though, so someone correct me if I'm wrong.

robotrenegade
Mar 29, 2007, 02:57 PM
Yup it is..

robotrenegade
Mar 29, 2007, 03:15 PM
Where can I buy it at?

yippy
Mar 29, 2007, 03:20 PM
Um, unless I am misunderstanding something, you don't need a new graphics card to run a DVI display. Macs have had DVI as standard on their cards for a long time before the G5 came out.

Worst case you have a card with and ADC port and VGA port. In this case all you need is a cheap ($10-$20) ADC->DVI adapter.

Redneck1089
Mar 29, 2007, 03:21 PM
Where can I buy it at?

You can buy it straight from ATI. That's what I did with mine. I warn you, however, to hold onto your receipt. My X800XT is awesome for games, but it's created a problem in that I can no longer put my computer to sleep.

yippy
Mar 29, 2007, 03:27 PM
Or http://eshop.macsales.com/item/ATI%20Technologies/100435338/ you can get the X800

Eric5h5
Mar 29, 2007, 03:56 PM
You can buy it straight from ATI. That's what I did with mine. I warn you, however, to hold onto your receipt. My X800XT is awesome for games, but it's created a problem in that I can no longer put my computer to sleep.

Are you sure the X800 had anything to do with it? Because I have one and have no problems putting my computer to sleep.

--Eric

Redneck1089
Mar 29, 2007, 11:47 PM
Are you sure the X800 had anything to do with it? Because I have one and have no problems putting my computer to sleep.

--Eric

Yes I am sure it's the card. I think mine is faulty. There was a sleep issue problem with the card, however. There's been several ROM updates that have aimed to fixed the problem. Unfortunately, nothing has worked on mine.