PDA

View Full Version : Amiga emulator for OSX?




Flexible Head
Apr 1, 2007, 04:08 PM
Evenin' all. Does anybody know of a good Amiga emulator that would run in OSX 10.3.9? In my fantasy world it would just allow me to put my Amiga floppy disks in an external drive and run them on the mac. And then maybe even save them onto the mac so i wouldn't need the discs anymore. Does such a thing exist? Is it even possible?

Speak slowly.

Thanks.



Allotriophagy
Apr 1, 2007, 04:22 PM
http://www.rcdrummond.net/uae/

Flexible Head
Apr 1, 2007, 05:32 PM
Thanks, but... "OS X requires either LibSDL or an X server for graphics output, but native graphics are supported on AmigaOS and BeOS, although, at the moment, SDL is also preferred on BeOS since the native driver is incomplete." I have absolutely no idea what any of that means. Imagine you're speaking to somebody very dim... I don't want something I have to put together myself. I can't program. I just want something I can download and click on it and it works.

Queso
Apr 1, 2007, 05:37 PM
Here (http://www.thinkcommodore.com/Amiga/AmigaEmulators/EUAEQuickGuide/EUAEQuickGuide.html)'s some useful info. You probably want to follow their link to the Hi-Toro front end whilst you're in there too. Makes life a lot easier.

c-Row
Apr 2, 2007, 05:37 AM
I remember trying E-UAE on my old PowerBook. While some things run nice, it left a lot to be desired speed-wise. Let's see if the unofficial Intel version does a better job.

synth3tik
Apr 2, 2007, 05:41 AM
This is great. I have always wanted to get the Amiga OS running on my Mac, but could not before.

jMc
Apr 2, 2007, 05:59 AM
For all your Mac based emulator needs:

emulation.net (http://emulation.victoly.com/)

jx

c-Row
Apr 3, 2007, 01:41 AM
I remember trying E-UAE on my old PowerBook. While some things run nice, it left a lot to be desired speed-wise. Let's see if the unofficial Intel version does a better job.

So, while window mode is still a bit slow, full screen works fine. Just wanted to test a short game of Dynablaster yesterday - had to force me to quit after 2 hours of testing. Just as addictive as 15 years ago. :)

risc
Apr 3, 2007, 03:02 AM
I've tried UAE on OS X before it's no where as good as the Windows version unfortunately.

OllieG
Nov 3, 2008, 02:13 PM
Hi

You guys appear to be pretty clued up on these things, I really need some help here guys.

Basically I want to run Premier Manager 2 for the Amiga on my iMac.

The iMac is 10.5.2 Intel 2.66GHz Core 2 Duo, 4GB etc etc . . . .

Now I would like to use an emulator and I am really struggling to get round this.

I have searched all over the net and cannot find anywhere to help me.

Can you guys please tell me an idiots explanation to using UAE/Hi-Toro etc etc . . . Thanks very much

Ollie

frlane
Jun 6, 2009, 06:02 PM
Anybody ever get CD32 configs to work? I can configure E-UAE (with Hi-Toro), but when I run it it doesn't recognize the drive with the CD. The CD32 'flying disk' opening screen comes up, but it never loads the CD. Doing the same config in an old PC laptop worked (but it was too slow to actually play).

Other configs for disk-based games work great.

Axemantitan
Jul 27, 2009, 07:41 PM
I downloaded the UAE on my Macbook, but I can't get Battle Chess to work on it. Does anyone have a working link to the Amiga version of Battle Chess?

elvis-reborn
Aug 5, 2009, 08:17 PM
HI,

I have followed the instructions here:http://www.pcguru.plus.com/uae_macintosh.html

and UAE installed, Hi-Toro installed and the LibSDL in the right place.

A few games begin to start but do not get very far. I have tried SWIV and Lotus Esprit Turbo Challenge and I get some music and the initial screen saying whocracked it but can't get into the game. On Golden Axe I can get to the game but the screen resolution is terrible.

Anyone help?

Heeere's Jonny!
Feb 22, 2010, 05:56 AM
Hi, I'd really appreciate it if someone could help me with this......

Whilst clearing the loft I found my old Amiga 500, that got me reminiscing about all the great games I used tto play on it (Lemmings, Cannon Fodder, Monkey Island 2 etc.)

Unfortunately when I tried to set it up i had no luck with it:(, but I heard you could get an emulator on your mac and play it there, however again I tried it and no luck, dont have a clue what to do:confused:.

Does anyone know how to set up and use an Amiga 500 emulator and how to play games? I really am a total novice at this so if you know of a site that takes you STEP BY STEP please let me know.

I have a July '09 mac pro on Leopard.

PS should I get a later model emulator like an Amiga 600? will that still play A 500 games?

Thanks,
Heeere's Jonny!

Queso
Feb 22, 2010, 06:34 AM
E-UAE here (http://homepage.mac.com/nexusle/.Public/e-uae_ub.zip)

Hi-Toro GUI front end for E-UAE here (http://www.pimley.net/projects_hi-toro.html)

Kickstart ROMs here (http://www.lemonamiga.com/?mainurl=http%3A//www.lemonamiga.com/help/kickstart-rom/)

Setup guide here (http://stran.yssimo.com/siti-strani/e-uae-tutorial.html)

For an A500 you'll need ROM 1.3, for an A1200 you'll need ROM 3.0. Then it's just a case of searching the Net for some ADF files, which are the old games to boot with :)

busterflex
Aug 12, 2011, 04:23 PM
Hi folks!
Since my update to Lion the Amiga emulator (unfortunately PPC-Prog) does not work under lion....Is there anyway to solve that prob or do I really have to play it with win uae under parallel desktop or what ever????:(

Washac
Aug 15, 2011, 05:37 AM
Hello

I have opened a new thread on this as some links in this thread are now dead.

http://forums.macrumors.com/showthread.php?p=13180070#post13180070