PDA

View Full Version : Organizing movies




Cave Man
Apr 1, 2007, 08:24 PM
Ok, I'm a bit frustrated here, so bear with me a bit...

I'd like to organize my movies in iTunes for Apple TV (family room TV) in a similar way that I have them for Front Row (basement home theater with Mac Mini core solo). What I'd like, and which seems undoable, are folders such as "Kids" in which I put all the kids' movies. The idea is that when I choose "Movies" on the Apple TV, another folder appears entitled "Kids" that contains the kids' movies. I'd like to do the same for other categories, such as "Drama", "Action", etc. Is there a way of doing this?

In the TV Shows you can do this by calling the shows as part of the same show title under Get Info:Video:Show box. This does not work for the movies.

Thanks



roland.g
Apr 1, 2007, 10:54 PM
Ok, I'm a bit frustrated here, so bear with me a bit...

I'd like to organize my movies in iTunes for Apple TV (family room TV) in a similar way that I have them for Front Row (basement home theater with Mac Mini core solo). What I'd like, and which seems undoable, are folders such as "Kids" in which I put all the kids' movies. The idea is that when I choose "Movies" on the Apple TV, another folder appears entitled "Kids" that contains the kids' movies. I'd like to do the same for other categories, such as "Drama", "Action", etc. Is there a way of doing this?

In the TV Shows you can do this by calling the shows as part of the same show title under Get Info:Video:Show box. This does not work for the movies.

Thanks

That is the question. Apple TV doesn't support folders like front row or video playlists. Hopefully a software update will address this.

Cave Man
Apr 1, 2007, 11:00 PM
That is the question. Apple TV doesn't support folders like front row or video playlists. Hopefully a software update will address this.

If someone can come up with a software-only way to get into the ATV hard drive it would be interesting to see how things are stored. I tried using AFP to get to it, but such services are not activated on the ATV. Bummer - it would have been nice to mount that HD volume on the desktop. I have more faith in the Mac community than Apple. Time will tell...