PDA

View Full Version : Mounting FTP server




michael-appleru
Apr 2, 2007, 05:14 PM
I want to mount an FTP server how do I do this, and yes i have an account??

i need to read and write



iSaint
Apr 2, 2007, 06:14 PM
You need an FTP application such as Cyberduck (http://cyberduck.ch/).

michael-appleru
Apr 2, 2007, 06:38 PM
I want to mount it so I can save files to it

i.e. create a dmg file directly to FTP server

michael-appleru
Apr 7, 2007, 06:43 PM
hello?

iSaint
Apr 7, 2007, 07:16 PM
I'm not sure how to create a dmg file, but you can copy files via FTP. It's as simple as drag and drop once you have your connection.

ChrisA
Apr 7, 2007, 07:46 PM
I want to mount an FTP server how do I do this, and yes i have an account??

i need to read and write

Your question is hard to answer because one does not "mount" servers one mounts filesystems. So, "mount" is not what you want to do.

You are asking in a "programming" forum so I assume you are writting some software that needs to access an ftp server. There are quite a few ways to do this which to use depends on exactly you want to do. Can you give more details.

If yo are asking how to do this from the user level application you are asking in the wrong place but still I would have to repeat "There are quite a few ways to do this which to use depends on exactly you want to do. Can you give more details"

Eraserhead
Apr 8, 2007, 08:43 AM
I'm not sure how to create a dmg file,

Put the stuff you want to go in the disk image in a folder

Then load /Applications/Utilities/Disk Utility

then go to File==>New==>Disk Image from Folder and choose the folder you have just created.

iSaint
Apr 8, 2007, 08:59 AM
Put the stuff you want to go in the disk image in a folder

Then load /Applications/Utilities/Disk Utility

then go to File==>New==>Disk Image from Folder and choose the folder you have just created.

Ok, yeah, I've done this! :rolleyes: Thanks.

kzg
Apr 8, 2007, 05:33 PM
Go

jeremy.king
Apr 8, 2007, 08:46 PM
Interarchy allows you to mount an (S)FTP server to your desktop like another drive.

http://nolobe.com/interarchy/

michael-appleru
Apr 11, 2007, 07:01 PM
I want to create a disk image directly to a quotaless account and then open the disk image in the quotaless to mount it and not use any space on my computer

room on my computer:10GB
Room on server:10000GB

I want to create a 100GB disk image so i can back up my data


SUMMARY

use disk utility to create 100GB disk image directly to server

open image on server without downloading it

put files on disk image



quotaless wil not allow .dmg file types!!! where's a place that does??

Cybix
Apr 11, 2007, 07:18 PM
does FTP even support his kind of thing?

You basically want to use an FTP server as a network drive, and 'backup' your huge data directly to the FTP, on the fly, without consuming space on your own machine? hrmm.

Do you know what the remote machine operating system is? do you have an account on it?

I would probably use rsync personally. Otherwise, is samba running on the remote server?

just providing options, not trying to have a dig.... It would be interesting if you could mount an FTP server's folder as a mountpoint/drive and 'work' off it like that! heh