Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

liamski

macrumors member
Original poster
Jan 14, 2007
Hey

I produce music and am looking to do more re-editing of tracks - for example, taking old disco records, and extending / re-eqing them.

I'm relatively new to Macs and am looking for the most user friendly applications. At a guess, I reckon my choices are..

Logic
Protools
Cubase

However.... I'm sure there are more out there I should consider.

Any advice would be appreciated. Note that I am mainly concerned with audio editing rather than midi-type features.

cheers

epochblue

macrumors 68000
Aug 12, 2005
Nashville, TN
I'm not much of a music maker myself, but have you considered GarageBand? Comes with your Mac, so it's definitely cheaper than Logic or Reason.

bmcgonag

macrumors 65816
Mar 20, 2007
Texas
Hey

I produce music and am looking to do more re-editing of tracks - for example, taking old disco records, and extending / re-eqing them.

I'm relatively new to Macs and am looking for the most user friendly applications. At a guess, I reckon my choices are..

Logic
Protools
Cubase

However.... I'm sure there are more out there I should consider.

Any advice would be appreciated. Note that I am mainly concerned with audio editing rather than midi-type features.

cheers

If you have all of the separated tracks, then I agree with epochblue...garageband will probably work fine for you. If you are wanting advanced features, I would go with logic pro. Will take you more time to learn, but not much more, but also not free. I'm not a huge cubase fan, so I can't give a fair eval of that one.

good luck with your hunt,

Brian

rhoydotp

macrumors 6502
Sep 28, 2006