PDA

View Full Version : Cutting to an External HDD


RiseAgainst
Jun 14, 2003, 01:16 PM
I have an external HDD and for some reason I cannot cut items to it, only copy.
Is there anyreson y this is happening. How can i get around it?

jelloshotsrule
Jun 14, 2003, 01:19 PM
what do you mean you can't "cut" items to it?

not sure what you mean by that term...

FredAkbar
Jun 14, 2003, 02:29 PM
If you're talking about actually using the Edit menu (Copy, Paste, etc.) for moving or copying, then I don't think Cut ever works.

But, if you are talking about copying by dragging a file, and "cutting" or moving by Command-dragging a file, then I don't know why that isn't working for you.

Can you clarify what you mean, though?

--Fred

RiseAgainst
Jun 14, 2003, 02:47 PM
Well, i mean that file>cut is not an option. However i tried holding command down as suggested and that was what i wanted it to do. Thanks for the tip and sorry for the bad wording.