PDA

View Full Version : Analysis: Other surprises on Monday

utilizer
Jun 21, 2003, 04:58 PM
As a web designer, I find it hard to believe this was an accident. And the people talking about the different font style the spec graphic had, I say this: They could be redoing the entire Apple Store on Monday, after all, they will be starting another chapter!

You will see PowerBook 970s with 1.4 ghz processors in 'em. I think that's a nice balance. Those laptops won't sell without a 970, bottomline, no one will care if it has a G4 running at 1.5 ghz, if it could get up that high.

When Panther gets unveiled, I also believe you'll see a switch to the IBM G3 "Gobi" processors, sometime this fall.

Then that leaves the last product to need changes, none other than the iMac -- Christmas time, iMacs move to 1.6 ghz.

MWSF: We move to the 980s. Why? IBM seems to be pretty conservative as to when they'll have something available (this 970 wasn't supposed to be here at all until at least November of this year!).

Also, I think it's safe to say something I heard from the "GAP" Store this past week that didn't get reported: Look for a special edition of the PowerBook or iBook that is a convertible, meaning the display swivels 180 degrees and converts into a tablet from a laptop. [They] didn't say when to expect it though.

And that's the end of the story.

Dont Hurt Me
Jun 21, 2003, 05:04 PM
i think you mean 1.2 ghz in them.powerbooks that is.

MacsRgr8
Jun 21, 2003, 05:07 PM
IBM's G3 (Gobi).... It's probable for the iBook. But, the "G3" name willl sound a bit negative. We can safely assum that the new 970-Mac will be called "G5", leaving the G4 behind (finally). The G4 will stay in the consumer Macs for quite some time, leaving the Gobi in the iBook.
So finally we have outlived the G4, but there's still a G3 processor in a Mac aswelll.
I wonder how Apple will market that chip... G4 and-a-half? :D

BTW, I'm in Atlanta during my summer holiday in the US! Know nice pubs? :)