PDA

View Full Version : Guild Wars - Just starting... Question...




mdelaney123
May 2, 2007, 01:01 PM
Hi all, I am just starting Guild Wars and convinced a friend to pick it up also... We were planning on grouping together immediatly.

Can this be done?

I just read the review at Gamespot and it seemed to indicate that you cannot group when you are first starting out.

(We are playing the original game, not the expansions. (Yet.))



PekkaR
May 2, 2007, 05:46 PM
If I recall correctly (been quite a while), you'll start in Pre-Searing Ascalon City. With a drop down menu in one of the upper corners you should be able to get into the same instance of the city (called Districts) with your friend.

At a point there was a relatively short introduction adventure that you had to play alone before seeing anybody else in the game. I think that comes between the Searings in the release game, but I'm not sure. So you both might have to play a bit before you reach the City where you can find each other.

mdelaney123
May 2, 2007, 08:35 PM
Hey, thanks for the reply... That is what I was hoping.

:)

Andrew D.
May 7, 2007, 09:40 AM
Are you playing it through Boot Camp or Parallels by the way, just curious?

magicjames92
May 9, 2007, 09:13 PM
Are you playing it through Boot Camp or Parallels by the way, just curious?

i would like to know too..hes probably a windows user on a mac forum because he wants a mac, and all us mac people are so nice

MyJelleo
May 10, 2007, 03:32 AM
Are you playing it through Boot Camp or Parallels by the way, just curious?

It's not going to run well under parallels, if at all.

I do know that the game runs under Crossover, but the sound is a little messed up.

lewion
May 10, 2007, 05:58 AM
i would like to know too..hes probably a windows user on a mac forum because he wants a mac, and all us mac people are so nice

Exactly how i was before i got my MacBook in september :D

lol :p

soup4you2
May 10, 2007, 06:37 AM
I've played it a bit via bootcamp running XP and it ran pretty good. no complaints.

mdelaney123
May 10, 2007, 06:43 AM
i would like to know too..hes probably a windows user on a mac forum because he wants a mac, and all us mac people are so nice

I am running it on a 24" Imac via Bookcamp and it runs OK. I have everything pretty much maxed and it is a tad slow compared to my dedicated Vista home-built.

I just downloaded the Paralells demo and I will give it a try... I don't have high hopes for it...

wallseg
Oct 30, 2007, 10:02 AM
Hello to everyone,

Thinking about getting a macbook pro. Right now, got a Dell and use Roxio products to video edit. The software has some really cool features, but it seems like there are multiple problems that always pop up. I'm a moderate user so it's hard for me to navigate around and constantly figure out whats going on (it's a time thing too, 3 small children). I've always heard that Apple makes user friendly products and there are never the problems that always come up with Windows/PC's. On some reviews, I've gathered the Macbook Pro can run both the Mac platform and Windows. Does the Macbook Pro laptop do this well?

My needs: want to be able to video edit with great DVD software and I hear you can do this with Apple. Also, I love playing Guild Wars and I've read that there is Guild Wars software for Mac.

gamerz
Oct 30, 2007, 10:08 AM
I think when you first start, no you can no group. However, once you pass the dungoen thing and go to the future, I think you can there.

Just try and see is my advice, if it doesnt work, it doesnt work.

kkat69
Oct 30, 2007, 10:16 AM
If I recall correctly (been quite a while), you'll start in Pre-Searing Ascalon City. With a drop down menu in one of the upper corners you should be able to get into the same instance of the city (called Districts) with your friend.

At a point there was a relatively short introduction adventure that you had to play alone before seeing anybody else in the game. I think that comes between the Searings in the release game, but I'm not sure. So you both might have to play a bit before you reach the City where you can find each other.

This is exactly correct.

You start out solo for a short bit, then when complete you enter with the rest of the populous and can change districts to find your friend (IM or voice chat to sync up districts) which I have done before.

On the playability, sure Bootcamp should work no questions asked, but to the other solutions (none of which I have tried but just might try soon)

GW is dx8 (min sys req) and since Fusion and Parallels support up to dx8 it might work, however, I have had issues getting some <= dx8 games to work. It's worth a shot.

Crossover shows GW as "Honorable Mention" which means: It has been minimally tested by Codeweavers and others to Install and Run but will not be supported by Codeweavers.

Basically others have gotten it to install and run but it's not guarenteed.

Good luck.

Mr.Pibb
Oct 30, 2007, 12:44 PM
I've run Guild Wars through Boot Camp with Windows Vista Home Premium on stock Boot Camp (pre-leopard) drivers.

As for the original question - Yes you can group up with up to only 4 people (or henchmen) from the very start. Just click (or type the name) of the person you want to add into your group window and hit the "+" button. That person will receive an invite to your group in his group window. Later on in the game you can group with 6 or 8 people depending on the mission.

Huntn
Sep 22, 2008, 03:26 PM
I could have sworn when I tried out Guild Wars, my friend and I could immediately before doing anything else get hooked up on the same district so we were in the same starter town together.