PDA

View Full Version : Halo won't run after Quicktime Update




iTim314
May 4, 2007, 09:45 PM
I installed the Quictime v7.1.6 update today on my iMac. Before, I might note, I was playing halo. ( And getting clobbered in a slayer match )

Now, after installing the update, Halo won't run. It starts up, then immediately closes saying "Halo Unexpectedly Quit."

I'm running Mac OS X 10.4.9.



zeedee-h
May 4, 2007, 09:50 PM
Do you have the latest update for halo? (2.0.1)

iTim314
May 4, 2007, 09:52 PM
That's for the universal version. I bought it when it was still the PowerPC version.

iTim314
May 4, 2007, 10:13 PM
Mk. Just did a complete reinstallation, still won't start up.

Except now I don't get the unexpected quit message. It just dies...

Someone PLEASE help.

crazzyeddie
May 4, 2007, 10:50 PM
You might want to pay the extra $5 or whatever to upgrade to the UB version, it seems that the game code much be newer (and it should run faster on your computer).

Halo UB (http://www.macgamestore.com/detail.php?ProductID=616)

iTim314
May 5, 2007, 07:20 PM
You might want to pay the extra $5 or whatever to upgrade to the UB version, it seems that the game code much be newer (and it should run faster on your computer).

Halo UB (http://www.macgamestore.com/detail.php?ProductID=616)

Even though I have a PPC iMac G5?

"If you have a PowerPC Mac, you do not need to purchase and download this."

iHerzeleid
May 5, 2007, 07:21 PM
Yes it's universal binary so it will work on either PPC or Intel Architectures.

You tried fixing permissions?

iTim314
May 5, 2007, 07:24 PM
I'm now repairing permissions...

But I don't see how having the UB Halo will solve anything. Really it only benefits Intel Mac users, since they're not having to run such a resource heavy app though roseta.

EDIT>> Repairing permissions didn't work.

iHerzeleid
May 5, 2007, 07:26 PM
I'm not 100% sure but the UB version has some updated code. Other than that try to see if repairing permissions helps out.

iTim314
May 5, 2007, 07:28 PM
I'm not 100% sure but the UB version has some updated code. Other than that try to see if repairing permissions helps out.

Unfortunately it didn't, but there were a lot of bad permissions...

Any other suggestions? I'm going to do see about the new code in the UB halo, but I doubt it'll help me.

Besides, the download's 640mb. O.O

lancestraz
May 5, 2007, 08:11 PM
Try booting from your instal DVD and "Repair Disk".

You said you reinstalled Halo, but did you delete all traces of it from your HDD before installing it?

iTim314
May 5, 2007, 08:13 PM
Try booting from your instal DVD and "Repair Disk".

You said you reinstalled Halo, but did you delete all traces of it from your HDD?

Well, unfortunately, you can't boot from a CD with a wireless keyboard. :( And I don't have access to a USB keyboard.

I'm in quite a hole, aren't I?

iHerzeleid
May 5, 2007, 08:16 PM
Well, unfortunately, you can't boot from a CD with a wireless keyboard. :( And I don't have access to a USB keyboard.

I'm in quite a hole, aren't I?

You can boot from an Apple BT KB.

Also you can set the CD to boot from the Startup Disc control panel.

iTim314
May 5, 2007, 08:19 PM
...

You said you reinstalled Halo, but did you delete all traces of it from your HDD before installing it?

And yes, I spotlighted anything Halo or bungie related. Completely gone from my system.

I also updated it to 1.5.2 afterwards.


And how do I boot from a Wireless keyboard?

iHerzeleid
May 5, 2007, 08:21 PM
And yes, I spotlighted anything Halo or bungie related. Completely gone from my system.

I also updated it to 1.5.2 afterwards.


And how do I boot from a Wireless keyboard?

With Apple Bluetooth Keyboards just press C while booting up, otherwise try pressing option and seleting the CD when booting up.

iTim314
May 5, 2007, 08:23 PM
I've tried booting from a CD in the past. The Keyboard and the Computer won't pair until Mac OS X starts up.

For instance: Once the system starts up, in the login window, I often have to wait a while before I can type in my password.

TDM21
May 5, 2007, 08:25 PM
Hmmm, I'm running the PPC version of Halo and it still managed to start after the latest Quicktime update. You may want to try deleting the Halo preference file and see if that fixes the issue. Reinstalling the Quicktime update manually may also fix the issue.

The preference folder: ~/library/preferences

Quicktime download: http://www.apple.com/quicktime/download/mac.html

iTim314
May 5, 2007, 08:33 PM
Did you try booting the CD using the Startup Disc control panel?

Not yet. Do I use the Mac OS X Tiger Installation discs, or the discs that came with my iMac G5 (Panther)?

iHerzeleid
May 5, 2007, 08:35 PM
Tiger.

tominated
May 5, 2007, 08:37 PM
If you get the latest UB version of halo (2.0.1) it says there are many fixes with powerpc compatibility and glitches

iTim314
May 5, 2007, 08:38 PM
Well I'm going to try TDM21's suggestion first, clean halo and QT manual update, one more file permission repair... and if all that doesn't work. I'll try with the repair disk.

iTim314
May 5, 2007, 08:48 PM
Got it!

TDM21's suggestions worked. It's up and running... now to restore all my settings... >.<

Thanks for everyone's help!

robocub
May 10, 2007, 10:33 AM
I have had some situations where Halo will launch but be completely unresponsive to any keys on the main screen. I have to force quit the game at this point. And the only way I've been able to fix this is to delete the player profile here ~(Home)/Documents/Halo/savedgames/playername

Obviously this will delete any settings for that profile you have created, but if it's the only way then it must be done. You can always recreate the player profile.