PDA

View Full Version : using a powerbook a second monitor?


kray
Jun 27, 2003, 11:33 AM
Is it possible to connect a powerbook to a powermac in such a way that, the powerbook is functioning as a second monitor for the powermac?

Or (even better) the powerbook cound contribute some of its cpu time for distributed processes? (ala a small beowolf network)

ZildjianKX
Jun 27, 2003, 11:36 AM
Powerbook doesn't have a VGA or a DVI in... so I think its pretty safe to say no...

maradong
Jun 27, 2003, 12:15 PM
definetly not....
IMHO.. ;-)

shadowfax
Jun 27, 2003, 02:25 PM
there is no video input at all on a powerbook, and definitely no way of making it share CPU loads, unless you want to set up a network between the 2 and use a program to make them render collectively. but that would just be for that one program. you need some XServes if you wanna do that sort of thing though, man.

tazo
Jun 27, 2003, 11:52 PM
Originally posted by kray
Is it possible to connect a powerbook to a powermac in such a way that, the powerbook is functioning as a second monitor for the powermac?

Or (even better) the powerbook cound contribute some of its cpu time for distributed processes? (ala a small beowolf network)

That is kind of an expensive 2nd monitor when a 100 dollar 17'' CRT would suffice :D