PDA

View Full Version : Ibook or Powerbook??

jon123
Jun 27, 2003, 07:07 PM
Hello all, this is my first time posting on this board.

I will most likely be in the market for a laptop within the next 6-8 months, and i would like some opionions on what i should buy. I would be mainly be using it for website and unix style work. I would also be having large collections (5-10 gig) of files on the system. I am not really going to need super portibility but anything would be better then the 1:30h battery life i currently get with a Thinkpad (BTW: i dont own the thinkpad):(

I am 99% sure i would choose between a ibook or a pbook becuse i need the power of UNIX but somthing with ease of use.
(BTW: I could use FreeBSD on a intel laptop if I needed to but would much rather use somthing that already comes with a GUI, but it is always an option to buy intel and use FreeBSD+XFree86)

I will be doing some very lite graphics work also. I have heard some people say that the G4 is a very bad processor and would never buy them but would reccomend a G3. I am very confused because some say that the G3 is SUPER SLOW.

I would want somthing that wolnt be obsolete in 2 months (probaby not possible .....LOL)

Will it be better to buy later on .... say after Christmas?? My price range is up to $2000 but not much higher..... i am a highschool student after all.

If i would get this i would be ONE HAPPY SWITCHER (never owned a mac before)

Please give me some help......

Thanks,
Jon

rhpenguin
Jun 27, 2003, 07:53 PM
Here is my oppinion. I have the 12" iBook and its the best laptop I have ever owned. From the sounds of it the G3 is going to suit your needs much nicer and you can still have some coin left over for some apps. As for people saying the G3 is mad slow, it is slower than the G4 but not much so basically its a myth. All the graphics stuff you could ever want to do will work on the iBook but again a little slower than the G4.