PDA

View Full Version : Mysterious G5 innards.


fuzzy7slippers
Jun 28, 2003, 05:38 PM
Does anyone know what these mysterious slots numbered 1-4 are for on the new G5?

(I'm not talking about the PCI slots here - rather the giant open void to the left of them.)

Thanks!

Bigger Image (http://galleri.99mac.com/showphoto.php?photo=422&size=big&password=&sort=1&cat=521) (without circle)

http://homepage.mac.com/retro_a/g5_ports.jpg

RiseAgainst
Jun 28, 2003, 06:09 PM
im not sure, but it looks as if the numbers (i cant even see them in the pic but im ussuming there near the center of the circle) corespong to the pci slots. The space could be for longer cards. Near the left of the circle it looks like there are slots that the plastic piece on a large pci card slides into.

But then again, I could be wrong.

TylerL
Jun 28, 2003, 06:10 PM
Full-length PCI cards fit into slots on the far-side of the computer's case for better stability and less Really Expensive Card Snappage.

All G4 towers have those slots (numbered on most of them as well).

iJon
Jun 28, 2003, 06:14 PM
yep, tyler got it. like the mac version of the ti 4600 is that long, its crazy and quite pointless if you ask me.

iJon

MisterMe
Jun 28, 2003, 06:48 PM
Originally posted by iJon
yep, tyler got it. like the mac version of the ti 4600 is that long, its crazy and quite pointless if you ask me.

iJon Is is "crazy and pointless" that vendors designed full-length cards, or that Apple designed its computers to accept full-length cards:confused:

iJon
Jun 28, 2003, 06:55 PM
Originally posted by MisterMe
Is is "crazy and pointless" that vendors designed full-length cards, or that Apple designed its computers to accept full-length cards:confused:
nvidia makes that card, not apple. i was workign on powermac that some bought that card and it went all the way to the back. and it was just blank circuit board. didnt have anything on it. looked like half way it was just a green peice of plastic. pc version doenst look like that.

iJon

e-coli
Jun 28, 2003, 07:03 PM
Anyone using an ICE render board will need the extra long slots. Also, HD cards for FCP will need the long slots, If I'm not mistaken.