PDA

View Full Version : CPU Upgrade for G4 Sawtooth




mail4asim
Jun 3, 2007, 10:01 AM
I have a PowerMac G4 400 Mhz AGP Sawtooth. I saw this on ebay and was wondering if this cpu will work with my motherboard.

http://cgi.ebay.com/NEW-Mac-G4-Digital-Audio-DA-933-MHz-CPU-FREE-SHIPPING_W0QQitemZ220117315325QQihZ012QQcategoryZ80031QQssPageNameZWDVWQQrdZ1QQcmdZViewItem



spork183
Jun 3, 2007, 10:06 AM
I have a PowerMac G4 400 Mhz AGP Sawtooth. I saw this on ebay and was wondering if this cpu will work with my motherboard.

http://cgi.ebay.com/NEW-Mac-G4-Digital-Audio-DA-933-MHz-CPU-FREE-SHIPPING_W0QQitemZ220117315325QQihZ012QQcategoryZ80031QQssPageNameZWDVWQQrdZ1QQcmdZViewItem

It specifically lists quicksilver or Digital Audio. I wouldn't go with it. OWC makes some upgrades that cut across those lines, but others that don't. Since this one doesn't specify, I wouldn't take the chance. I'd go with one from this link:

http://eshop.macsales.com/MyOWC/Upgrades.cfm?model=164&type=Processor&TI=0543&shoupgrds=Show+Upgrades

SmurfBoxMasta
Jun 3, 2007, 10:17 AM
I have a PowerMac G4 400 Mhz AGP Sawtooth. I saw this on ebay and was wondering if this cpu will work with my motherboard.

http://cgi.ebay.com/NEW-Mac-G4-Digital-Audio-DA-933-MHz-CPU-FREE-SHIPPING_W0QQitemZ220117315325QQihZ012QQcategoryZ80031QQssPageNameZWDVWQQrdZ1QQcmdZViewItem

NO, ST use a 100mhz bus and QS/DA use 133mhz......

plus I would NEVER buy from that clown. Note that he states "overseas supplier who gets them in bulk, then overclocks them" But yet he advertises them as NEW.......plus only a 30 day warranty.......

.........10/100/1000 ft pole and counting :D