PDA

View Full Version : camino 1.5 released


clevin
Jun 5, 2007, 12:54 PM
http://www.caminobrowser.org/

major new features
1. spell checking
2. RSS
3. session saving
4. single window mode

devilot
Jun 5, 2007, 01:34 PM
http://www.caminobrowser.org/

major new features
1. spell checkingOMFG. Finally! :D

Thanks for posting this or who knows how the hell long I'd have gone w/out noticing this update!

tokolowicz
Jun 5, 2007, 02:07 PM
Anyone else having problems with Camino 1.5? Saw that 1.5 was released today so I thought I would once again give Camino a try. Didn't have any previous versions installed on my system. Downloaded, installed in Applications, and every time I double-click to launch, Camino crashes without a browser window even appearing.

That's not good. I am running 10.4.9 on my 15" MBP C2D.

/Todd

psychofreak
Jun 5, 2007, 02:12 PM
I have Camino, for when Safari doesn't work with a site. If it had Inquisitor (that looked like the Safari one), I would switch...

PlaceofDis
Jun 5, 2007, 02:13 PM
awesome news. :D
thanks for the update clevin.

Eraserhead
Jun 5, 2007, 02:16 PM
If you have had problems before try deleting org.mozilla.camino.plist and try launching Camino again.

cycocelica
Jun 5, 2007, 02:22 PM
I love the session saving feature. Safari really needs this (and if it already has it, someone better let me know). I still like Safari though, but session saving is amazing.

madmaxmedia
Jun 5, 2007, 02:27 PM
There's a free plug-in for Safari that provides session saving (and a bunch of other stuff.)

I'm not on my Mac, so don't remember the name.

Mitthrawnuruodo
Jun 5, 2007, 02:49 PM
Ok, long time Firefox user (and very happy with that), but I figured I'd give Camino 1.5 a try... actually posting this from Camino...

A couple of questions:

1) How do I get rid of those frelling bookmark icons (especially in the bookmark bar): 75793

2) Is it possible to add more search engines in the top right search field? (I'm very addicted to my 48 search engines in FF.)

3) Where do I set the language of the spell checker? Now it seems to allow both color and colour, so I guess it somehow allows "all" English forms, but sometimes I might wanna use Norwegian...

PlaceofDis
Jun 5, 2007, 02:53 PM
Mitty, i don't have exact solutions for you but check out this site (http://www.pimpmycamino.com/) for some add ons that'll help do what you want.

Eraserhead
Jun 5, 2007, 03:10 PM
1) How do I get rid of those frelling bookmark icons (especially in the bookmark bar):

You add a plain text file called user.js file to ~/Library/Application Support/Camino. Then:

Disable Bookmark Icons
You can disable the display of “favicons” (a.k.a. site icons) by adding the following code to your user.js file:

// Disable Bookmark Icons
user_pref("browser.chrome.favicons", false);



2) Is it possible to add more search engines in the top right search field? (I'm very addicted to my 48 search engines in FF.)
See http://www.caminobrowser.org/documentation/search/


3) Where do I set the language of the spell checker? Now it seems to allow both color and colour, so I guess it somehow allows "all" English forms, but sometimes I might wanna use Norwegian...

I think it uses the standard Mac OS X language, mine accepts colour but puts squiggles under color.

Mitthrawnuruodo
Jun 5, 2007, 03:12 PM
Mitty, i don't have exact solutions for you but check out this site (http://www.pimpmycamino.com/) for some add ons that'll help do what you want.Yeah... I was afraid of something like that... I don't have good experiences with (more or less official) "extras" (even in Firefox I only rely on a selected few, and FF is made for addons). :o

Maybe a theme to get rid of those (highly annoying) bookmark icons, though... :p

Edit: Or maybe one or more of Eraserhead's (earlier called excellent) solutions... thanks... :)

Edit 2 (The "Hmmm..."):

1: Sat browser.chrome.favicons to false (using about:config) and that didn't work exactly as planned, now it shows the sites favicon if any and the default icon for those without (or not visited, yet). They still take way to much space (in the Bookmarks Bar :(, elsewhere I couldn't care less ;)).

2: Tested making searches a bit, but soon ran into problems: Some of the sites I use require special encoding, something I can set using FF search engines or AcidSearch strings... so those searches weren't too good... also I after adding about 8 of my 48 engines Camino reverted to the default 3... :(

3: Not a big problem, I'm usually fairly good at Norwegian spelling and as long as I get the occasional wink about my English (mainly British) spelling all is well... :)

annk
Jun 5, 2007, 05:01 PM
3: Not a big problem, I'm usually fairly good at Norwegian spelling and as long as I get the occasional wink about my English (mainly British) spelling all is well... :)

Heh, that's just because everything in Norwegian is spelled like it sounds. :p

*well, almost*

nukiduz
Jun 5, 2007, 05:48 PM
Search function is the same as in Safari and that really sucks compared to Firefox. Also, I can't use a browser that doesn't go to tab 1 when press :apple: +1, to tab 2 when :apple: +2...

I'm trying to avoid Firefox because it's running slow but I can't without these options...

yagran
Jun 5, 2007, 05:55 PM
I love the session saving feature. Safari really needs this (and if it already has it, someone better let me know). I still like Safari though, but session saving is amazing.

You need to get Stand plugin...works great for session saving and getting rid of the brushed metal: http://hetima.com/safari/stand-e.html

Search function is the same as in Safari and that really sucks compared to Firefox. Also, I can't use a browser that doesn't go to tab 1 when press :apple: +1, to tab 2 when :apple: +2...

I'm trying to avoid Firefox because it's running slow but I can't without these options... have you tried inquisitor to search with in safair its amazing! http://www.inquisitorx.com/safari/

nukiduz
Jun 5, 2007, 06:10 PM
have you tried inquisitor to search with in safair its amazing! http://www.inquisitorx.com/safari/

it adds some shortcut options but you it hasn't convinced me. thanks for the hint though. it's a nice app :)

M@lew
Jun 6, 2007, 07:35 AM
Crashes for me. :confused: Tried deleting everything, but no solution.

Iamtherealwoody
Jun 6, 2007, 08:05 AM
I like the look of camino but i have a few complaints,

No Inquisitor, im addicted,
Dont know how to change tabs with the keyboard,
And most annoying, you may not agree with it but I love when you hit Maximize with apples applications it only maximizes it as much as it needs. I love that feature, dont know if camino can do that.

If anyone has any solutions to these, please let me know.

Matt

PlaceofDis
Jun 6, 2007, 08:07 AM
I like the look of camino but i have a few complaints,

No Inquisitor, im addicted,
Dont know how to change tabs with the keyboard,
And most annoying, you may not agree with it but I love when you hit Maximize with apples applications it only maximizes it as much as it needs. I love that feature, dont know if camino can do that.

If anyone has any solutions to these, please let me know.

Matt

don't know about Inquisitor, i tried it on Safari and hated it.
changing tabs is Command + Option + arrow key left/right
play around with the maximize, or just set it the size you want from the corner

fistful
Jun 6, 2007, 02:50 PM
I like the look of camino but i have a few complaints,

No Inquisitor, im addicted,
Dont know how to change tabs with the keyboard,
And most annoying, you may not agree with it but I love when you hit Maximize with apples applications it only maximizes it as much as it needs. I love that feature, dont know if camino can do that.

If anyone has any solutions to these, please let me know.

Matt

The zoom button actually zooms now instead of going full-screen.

http://camino.sb.samuelsidler.com/releases/1.5/

Window zooming

The Zoom command now resizes the window to fit the current page‘s content instead of making the window full-screen.

mkrishnan
Jun 6, 2007, 03:28 PM
1: Sat browser.chrome.favicons to false (using about:config) and that didn't work exactly as planned, now it shows the sites favicon if any and the default icon for those without (or not visited, yet). They still take way to much space (in the Bookmarks Bar :(, elsewhere I couldn't care less ;)).

At least in Firefox, there are *two* strings -- the one you set, and also browser.chrome.site_icons -- you must set them both to FALSE. See if Camino also has the latter string?

EDIT: Is there a theme that works with Camino 1.5 that looks anything like Safari or like GRApple?

Mitthrawnuruodo
Jun 6, 2007, 03:39 PM
At least in Firefox, there are *two* strings -- the one you set, and also browser.chrome.site_icons -- you must set them both to FALSE. See if Camino also has the latter string?Nah... when I added the browser.chrome.site_icons to the prefs.js file it did show up in about:config, but all the bookmark icons (and favicons) were still there... :(

tempques
Jun 6, 2007, 04:29 PM
Nah... when I added the browser.chrome.site_icons to the prefs.js file it did show up in about:config, but all the bookmark icons (and favicons) were still there... :(

You need to delete Camino's icon cache because it's still displaying favicons you've already downloaded. Remove all the contents from ~/Library/Caches/Camino/IconCache folder.

Is there a theme that works with Camino 1.5 that looks anything like Safari or like GRApple?
CaminIcon (http://web.mac.com/reinholdpenner/iWeb/Software/CaminIcon.html) might be useful for you.

:)

Iamtherealwoody
Jun 6, 2007, 04:50 PM
The zoom button actually zooms now instead of going full-screen.

http://camino.sb.samuelsidler.com/releases/1.5/

I feel dumb for saying this, but I realized that I had the previous version. I DLed it like 2 days ago, assumed it was the new one.

I got 1.5 now, im happy with it.

Mitthrawnuruodo
Jun 6, 2007, 05:28 PM
You need to delete Camino's icon cache because it's still displaying favicons you've already downloaded. Remove all the contents from ~/Library/Caches/Camino/IconCache folder.And then it reverts back to just showing the default ones again: 75870

I want them gone, all together, at least from the Bookmarks Bar... :(

tempques
Jun 6, 2007, 06:04 PM
And then it reverts back to just showing the default ones again: 75870

I want them gone, all together, at least from the Bookmarks Bar... :(

Oh I understand now. If you want to eliminate the icon from the Bookmarks Bar, do the following:

First make sure you eliminated custom favicons as instructed already.

Now quit and backup Camino, then go to your Applications folder. Right Click (or Control Click) Camino and select Show Package Contents. From there open Contents, then Resources, and delete the smallbookmark.tif file that is inside this Resources folder.

Next time you launch Camino, the favicon will be gone from the bookmark bar. If you don't like the favicons at all, you can additionally delete globe_ico.tif from the Resources folder, though there is an odd space in the address bar if done so. Alternatively you can replace the two mentioned files with another one since you find the default favicon ugly (as do I).

I actually prefer a more simple one, like this:
http://img520.imageshack.us/img520/1117/screenshottu0.th.png (http://img520.imageshack.us/my.php?image=screenshottu0.png)

MacBytes
Jun 6, 2007, 07:52 PM
http://www.macbytes.com/images/bytessig.gif (http://www.macbytes.com)

Category: 3rd Party Software
Link: Camino reaches version 1.5 (http://www.macbytes.com/link.php?sid=20070606205230)
Description:: Camino reaches version 1.5, adding many features such as spell checking.

Posted on MacBytes.com (http://www.macbytes.com)
Approved by Mudbug

Mitthrawnuruodo
Jun 7, 2007, 02:48 AM
Oh I understand now. If you want to eliminate the icon from the Bookmarks Bar, do the following: [...]Thanks... :)

That got rid of those... (that's not something that will come back with every Camino-update, isn't it, or do Camino have a kind of hidden update system like FF, so only updated parts are downloaded?)

Now, I have to make an extra effort and try to make a well formatted SearchURLList.plist file, even if some of my searches (especially some of the Norwegian ones) will have problems...

I'm not very hard to please, but I do have my hangups... ;)

prostuff1
Jun 7, 2007, 08:58 AM
I like Camino and always have. It runs SO MUCH faster on my iMac and iBook then Firefox ever had. There are a few thing that I don't like/from Firefox but i am going to make an effort to switch back to Camino.

Thing i would love to see
I guess the one biggest thing i miss is my foxmarks plugin (https://addons.mozilla.org/en-US/firefox/addon/2410). This plugin is invaluable if you have multiple macs. And it is the one thing that I miss the most right now.


Things i would like to see
Dragable tabs would be nice to see!! I use the feature in Firefox frequently enough that I miss it. Also, an undo close tab feature would be nice (can't count the number of times I have accidently closed a tab that I was still using).

Another thing I would like to see is the downloads window turn into something like Download Statusbar (https://addons.mozilla.org/en-US/firefox/addon/26). It keeps the downloads window out of the way and does not take up a lot of room on the bottom of the browser. I use the growl plugin right now to suppress the downloads window and that works pretty well but still kinda gets in the way a little to much for my liking.


Nit-picky/cosmetic issues
Why the stop AND reload button?? Combine the things into one like safari does!! It is just a waste of space to have two buttons. I used a plugin on Firefox to make it one button.

Anyway, these are most of the things i would love to see in the next version and so far I am pleased with newest version of Camino (although 1passwd was broken in the process, guess its time to update).

GanChan
Jun 11, 2007, 01:10 AM
My Camino 1.5 won't download. It won't even display the Download window. Safari is still downloading fine, so it's not my modem or my computer -- it's Camino screwing up.

I've installed it twice, with no luck. The previous version of Camino never gave me this problem. I'm on a PPC Mini running Panther.

Thoughts?

cbrain
Jun 11, 2007, 01:21 AM
I tried it but went back to Firefox after a while.

ElCambo
Jun 11, 2007, 01:47 AM
Using Camino now.. It is simply the best :D

wowser
Jun 11, 2007, 07:36 PM
tried all the main browsers available for Panther - This Camino takes the prize for me. SO much fater on a G4 than Opera (and especially Firefox). More compatible than Safari, too. Loads pages like Last.fm, even on dial-up, quickly, and without bogging my system down (like Opera did).

Awaiting problems, though. ;)

The only thing I don;t like is the way the tabs all get a bit cramped too closely to the button section.

brbubba
Jun 20, 2007, 01:39 PM
I like Camino and always have. It runs SO MUCH faster on my iMac and iBook then Firefox ever had. There are a few thing that I don't like/from Firefox but i am going to make an effort to switch back to Camino.

Thing i would love to see
I guess the one biggest thing i miss is my foxmarks plugin (https://addons.mozilla.org/en-US/firefox/addon/2410). This plugin is invaluable if you have multiple macs. And it is the one thing that I miss the most right now.


Things i would like to see
Dragable tabs would be nice to see!! I use the feature in Firefox frequently enough that I miss it. Also, an undo close tab feature would be nice (can't count the number of times I have accidently closed a tab that I was still using).

Another thing I would like to see is the downloads window turn into something like Download Statusbar (https://addons.mozilla.org/en-US/firefox/addon/26). It keeps the downloads window out of the way and does not take up a lot of room on the bottom of the browser. I use the growl plugin right now to suppress the downloads window and that works pretty well but still kinda gets in the way a little to much for my liking.


Nit-picky/cosmetic issues
Why the stop AND reload button?? Combine the things into one like safari does!! It is just a waste of space to have two buttons. I used a plugin on Firefox to make it one button.

Anyway, these are most of the things i would love to see in the next version and so far I am pleased with newest version of Camino (although 1passwd was broken in the process, guess its time to update).

Agreed on all points. Also someone needs to come out with a bookmark icon scanner that will just scan all bookmarks and update those icons, or for those hating them, turn them off.

P.S. Anyone know how to alter the browser identifier information for Camino? I have some online bill sites that keep insisting on Netscape or IE, which seems absurd.

james77
Aug 4, 2007, 09:30 PM
Can someone please tell me how you activate the spellcheck feature ? I can find nothing in the preferences. And yes I checked i am using 1.0.5

Thanks!

devilot
Aug 4, 2007, 09:36 PM
Can someone please tell me how you activate the spellcheck feature ? I can find nothing in the preferences. And yes I checked i am using 1.0.5

Thanks!It should work automatically. (Shows as little red dots under a misspelled word. :D

http://skitch.devilot.com/spellcheck-20070804-193606.png

And if you right-click on the word (or use ctrl+left click) then you get the little menu that lets you select from a list of suggested words. :p

81395

james77
Aug 4, 2007, 09:54 PM
It should work automatically. (Shows as little red dots under a misspelled word. :D

http://skitch.devilot.com/spellcheck-20070804-193606.png

And if you right-click on the word (or use ctrl+left click) then you get the little menu that lets you select from a list of suggested words. :p

81395

That's just the thing it's not working. If I try to spell cat as catt or caaat nothing happens if if I right click. At first I thought I had downloaded an older version but I checked and it's the current version. Thanks for responding though

MarkMS
Aug 4, 2007, 10:27 PM
That's just the thing it's not working. If I try to spell cat as catt or caaat nothing happens if if I right click. At first I thought I had downloaded an older version but I checked and it's the current version. Thanks for responding though

Have you tried using spell check in Safari? Just remember to right click>Spelling>then Check Spelling as You Type. It may be an issue with OS X.

Also try enabling "Check Spelling as You Type" in the URL bar or Google Search bar of Camino. It doesn't let you enable it in forms in Camino, but somehow lets you do it in the URL/Search bar.

Sorry that I can't help much. Its just that Camino's spell check has always worked for me even in beta. You can always try one of the nightly builds of Camino (http://www.caminobrowser.org/contribute/).

james77
Aug 5, 2007, 09:28 AM
Spell check works for me in Safari. And you have been very helpful :) At least now I know there is no magic button hidden somewhere in preferences I need to click. I am using an older emac so maybe that's the issue. Thanks for your time.

Mitthrawnuruodo
Aug 21, 2007, 03:08 AM
Camino 1.5.1 (http://www.caminobrowser.org/releases/1.5.1/) is out.