Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

npederse

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Mar 21, 2007
Hey folks - I'm hoping that someone will have a recommendation or some advice. I'm looking for a "starter" camcorder with a budget of approx ~$500-$600 max.

I've never done video before, so don't even know where to begin. Most of the video would be while traveling, so portability is preferred over high feature content. I'd be editing in iMovie -- looks like most folks recommend miniDV for that.

I'm not sure if it even matters much which camera I purchase -- at this price point, does it matter? Are there some features I should look for?

I've been looking at the Panasonic GS320 -- any comments?

Appreciate any recommendations folks would have.

question fear

macrumors 68020
Apr 10, 2003
The "Garden" state
I like panasonic, but I am totally a hobbyist/dabbler. I have a panasonic pv-gs80, which is fairly low-end. I like the layout of the buttons and the joystick, and it feels very comfortable to hold. Basically after playing with a bunch of cameras that made a big chunk of my decision for me. Your mileage will vary, but try handling a few different cameras in your price range to get an idea of comfort as well as features. Just my .02.

sigamy

macrumors 65816
Mar 7, 2003
NJ USA
The GS320 is a great choice for a point and shoot camcorder. It has 3 CCDs which will give very good video when in good lighting. It will probably suffer a bit in low light due to the small CCD size.

It also has Optical Image Stabilization which is a great feature and much better than electronic stabilization used on most low end cams.

It does not have a mic jack or headphone jack so you'll be stuck with the internal mic.

Editing in iMovie or any other NLE should not be a problem.

The GS320 sounds like a perfect fit for your needs and budget. Enjoy it!

npederse

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Mar 21, 2007