PDA

View Full Version : Leopard on iMac G5




Tennor
Jun 11, 2007, 01:12 PM
Hi all!

I bought and use an iMac G5 (right before the Intel change). I love having a MAC. But will all the new cool features that Leopard has, will I be able to use Leopard on my machine?



yellow
Jun 11, 2007, 01:35 PM
Most likely.

As far as I know, they haven't released the specs yet on hardware requirements, but there's a 99.9999999% chance your iMac will be supported.

RaMaz
Jun 11, 2007, 04:10 PM
Most likely.

As far as I know, they haven't released the specs yet on hardware requirements, but there's a 99.9999999% chance your iMac will be supported.

For PowerPC G4, G5, And Intel

Tennor
Jun 11, 2007, 04:26 PM
Great! Thanks, guys! I just may have to upgrade when it comes out. I've felt left out with all the Intel and Windows capabilites and the faster speeds of the newer models. But, I'm glad I've had my iMac for over a year now.

scottlinux
Jun 11, 2007, 11:44 PM
Yes, Leopard will breath new life into G5 machines, since it is fully 64bit in kernel and userspace. The 64bit G5 processors can take advantage of all the 64bit goodness.

ironic23
Jun 12, 2007, 07:24 AM
I am sure you will be able to run Leopard on your iMac. It's just a question of whether you will be able to run all the features on it, particularly the graphic (eye candy) features. I remember that when Tiger was released, it had a minimum graphics card requirement to enable the ripple effect when launching the dashboard. Maybe some restriction like that will apply for Leopard, but i can only speculate. Cheers.